facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Tale of Two Cities   

Al Hirschfeld Theatre, (9/18/2008 - 11/09/2008)
First Preview: Aug 19, 2008 Total Previews: 33
Opening Date: Sep 18, 2008    
Closing Date: Nov 09, 2008 Total Performances: 60

Category: Musical, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: Paris and London during the late eighteenth century

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (Rocco Landesman: President; Paul Libin: Producing Director; Jack Viertel: Creative Director; Jordan Roth: Vice President)
Produced by Barbra Russell, Ron Sharpe, Bernard Brogan, Sharon A. Fordham, Theater Associates-David Sonnenberg/Rami Evar, The Monagle Group, Joseph J. Grano, Fanok Entertainment, Mary Laminack, Nancy Audet, Paul Audet, Jim Barry, Gasperino Entertainment, Vincent Russell, William Broderick and Alex Santoriello; Produced in association with David Bryant, Spencer S. Brody and Harry Casey
World Premiere produced by Asolo Repertory Theatre; Originally directed by Michael Donald Edwards
Book by Jill Santoriello; Music by Jill Santoriello; Lyrics by Jill Santoriello; Based on the novel "A Tale Of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens; Music orchestrated by Edward B. Kessel; Music arranged by Edward B. Kessel; Additional arrangements by Bob Krogstad, Wendy Bobbitt Cavett and Kevin Stites; Musical Director: Kevin Stites
Directed by Warren Carlyle; Choreographed by Warren Carlyle; Associate Choreographer: Parker Esse; Assistant Director: Michael Arden
Scenic Design by Tony Walton; Costume Design by David Zinn; Lighting Design by Richard Pilbrow; Sound Design by Carl Casella and Domonic Sack; Hair Design by Tom Watson; Special Effects Design by Gregory Meeh; Associate Scenic Design: Heather Wolensky; Associate Costume Design: Jacob A. Climer; Associate Lighting Design: Michael Gottlieb; Associate Sound Design: Wallace Flores
Executive Producer: Ron Sharpe and Barbra Russell; General Manager: Town Square Productions, Inc; Company Manager: Robert Nolan; Assistant Co. Mgr: Austin Nathaniel
Production Supervisor: Christopher C. Smith; Production Stage Manager: Kim Vernace; Stage Manager: Paul J. Smith; Assistant Stage Mgr: Jason A. Quinn and Megan J. Schneid
Conducted by Kevin Stites; Associate Conductor: Paul Raiman; Assistant Conductor: Nicholas Archer; Violin: Martin Agee and Conrad Harris; Viola: Debra Shufelt-Dine; Cello: Laura Bontrager; Bass: Dave Phillips; Flute/Piccolo: Judith Mendenhall; Oboe/English Horn: Matthew Dine; Clarinet/Bass Clarinet/Bassoon: Mark Thrasher; Trumpet: Timothy Schadt and Terry Szor; French Horn: Anthony Cecere and William DeVos; Tenor Trombone/Bass Trombone/Tuba: Chris Olness; Drums/Percussion: James Musto III; Timpani/Percussion: Kory Grossman; Synthesizer: Nicholas Archer and Paul Raiman; Musical Coordinator: James Neglia; Musical Supervisor: Kevin Stites
Casting: Barry Moss and Bob Kale; Press Representative: The Jacksina Company; Promotions: Margery Singer Company; Vocal Coach: Deborah Hecht; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Marketing: Sharon A. Fordham
James Barbour
Sydney Carton
Craig Bennett
Jerry Cruncher
Brandi Burkhardt
Lucie Manette
Kevin Earley
Ernest Defarge
Gregg Edelman
Dr. Alexandre Manette
Michael Hayward-Jones
Mr. Jarvis Lorry
Miles Kath
Little Gaspard
Aaron Lazar
Charles Darnay
Katherine McGrath
Miss Pross
Les Minski
Marquis St. Evremonde
Catherine Missal
Little Lucie
Natalie Toro
Madame Therese Defarge
Nick Wyman
John Barsad
Drew Aber
The Young Man
Catherine Brunell
Alison Cimmet
William Thomas Evans
Attorney General
Kevin Greene
Michael Halling
Tim Hartman
A Crony
Fred Inkley
Georgi James
Jay Lusteck
Mackenzie Mauzy
Raymond Jaramillo McLeod
French President
James Moye
English Judge
Walter Winston ONeil
A Crony
Dan Petrotta
Devin Richards
Number Keeper
Rob Richardson
Rebecca Robbins
Jennifer Smith
Anne Tolpegin
Mollie Vogt-Welch
Alison Walla
Swings: Jennifer Evans, Randy Glass and Eric Van Tielen
Understudies: Catherine Brunell (Lucie Manette), William Thomas Evans (Mr. Jarvis Lorry), Randy Glass (Dr. Alexandre Manette, Marquis St. Evremonde), Michael Halling (Charles Darnay), Tim Hartman (John Barsad, Mr. Jarvis Lorry), Fred Inkley (Dr. Alexandre Manette, Jerry Cruncher, John Barsad), Georgi James (Little Gaspard, Little Lucie), Jay Lusteck (Ernest Defarge, Jerry Cruncher), James Moye (Ernest Defarge, Marquis St. Evremonde, Sydney Carton), Rob Richardson (Sydney Carton), Rebecca Robbins (Lucie Manette, Madame Therese Defarge), Jennifer Smith (Miss Pross), Anne Tolpegin (Madame Therese Defarge, Miss Pross) and Eric Van Tielen (Charles Darnay)
Drama Desk Award
2009 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee]
James Barbour
2009 Outstanding Orchestrations [nominee]
Edward B. Kessel
2009 Outstanding Lighting Design in a Musical [nominee]
Lighting Design by Richard Pilbrow
music by Jill Santoriello; lyrics by Jill Santoriello
ACT 1 Sung By
Prologue: The Shadows of the Night Dr. Alexandre Manette and Lucie Manette
The Way It Ought to Be Madame Therese Defarge, Ernest Defarge and Ensemble
You'll Never Be Alone Dr. Alexandre Manette and Lucie Manette
Argument Marquis St. Evremonde and Charles Darnay
Dover Miss Pross, Jerry Cruncher and Sailors
The Way It Ought to Be Sydney Carton
No Honest Way John Barsad, Jerry Cruncher, Sydney Carton and Scoundrels
The Trial Attorney General, Stryver, Jerry Cruncher, John Barsad, Sydney Carton and Ensemble
Round and Round Tavern Folk
Reflection Sydney Carton
The Way It Ought to Be (Reprise) Madame Therese Defarge
Letter From Uncle Marquis St. Evremonde
The Promise Dr. Alexandre Manette and Charles Darnay
I Can't Recall Sydney Carton
Resurrection Man Jerry Cruncher and Cronies
Now at Last Charles Darnay and Lucie Manette
If Dreams Came True Charles Darnay and Sydney Carton
Out of Sight, Out of Mind Madame Therese Defarge
I Always Knew Gabelle and Charles Darnay
Little One Gaspard, Little Lucie, Sydney Carton, Ernest Defarge and Men
Until Tomorrow Ernest Defarge, Madame Therese Defarge, Sydney Carton and Ensemble
ACT 2 Sung By
Everything Stays the Same Madame Therese Defarge, Ernest Defarge and Ensemble
No Honest Way (Reprise) John Barsad
The Tale Madame Therese Defarge, Dr. Alexandre Manette, The Young Man, Marquis St. Evremonde and Ensemble
If Dreams Came True (Reprise) Sydney Carton
Without a Word Charles Darnay and Lucie Manette
The Bluff Sydney Carton and John Barsad
Let Her Be a Child Sydney Carton, Little Lucie and Charles Darnay
The Letter Sydney Carton
Lament Ernest Defarge
Finale: I Can't Recall Seamstress, Sydney Carton and Ensemble