Opening Date
Apr 19, 2009
Closing Date
Aug 16, 2009
1st Preview
Mar 30, 2009
1st Preview
Mar 30, 2009


Broadhurst Theatre
(Apr 19, 2009 - Aug 16, 2009)

Between Fotheringhay Castle and Elizabeth's Court

Written by Friedrich Schiller; New adaptation by Peter Oswald
Directed by Phyllida Lloyd; Assistant Director: Seth Sklar-Heyn
Scenic and Costume Design by Anthony Ward; Lighting Design by Hugh Vanstone; Sound Design by Paul Arditti; Hair Design by Campbell Young; Associate Scenic Design: Christine Peters; Associate Costume Design: Daryl Stone; Associate Lighting Design: Philip Rosenberg and Jake DeGroot; Associate Sound Design: Jeremy Lee; Associate Hair Design: Luc Verschueren
General Manager: 101 Productions, Ltd.; Company Manager: Sean Free
Technical Supervisor: Aurora Productions; Production Stage Manager: Barclay Stiff; Stage Manager: Brandon Kahn
Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; General Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Casting: Daniel Swee; UK Casting Anne McNulty; Director of Marketing: Eric Schnall; Dialect Coach: Kate Wilson; Fight direction by Tom Schall; Photographer: Joan Marcus; Casting Associate: Camille Hickman; Press Associate: Jim Byk
Mary Stuart
Queen of Scotland
Queen of England
Courtier, Officer and other roles
Sir Amias Paulet
Mary's jailer
Mortimer's friend
Courtier, Officer and other roles
Earl of Leicester
Earl of Shrewsbury
Courtier, Officer and other roles
Count Aubespine
French Ambassador
Mary's house steward
Sir WiIliam Davison
Hanna Kennedy
Mary's Nurse
Paulet's nephew
Lord Burleigh
Understudies: Jacqueline Antaramian (Mary Stuart, Hanna Kennedy), Tony Carlin (Count Aubespine, Melvil, O'Kelly, Earl of Leicester, Courtier, Officer and other roles), Monique Fowler (Elizabeth, Hanna Kennedy), Adam Greer (Mortimer, Sir WiIliam Davison), Guy Paul (Lord Burleigh, Sir Amias Paulet) and Michael Rudko (Earl of Shrewsbury)

Tony Award®


Best Actress in a Play

2009 Nominee
Janet McTeer
Harriet Walter

Best Direction of a Play

2009 Nominee
Directed by Phyllida Lloyd

Best Costume Design of a Play

2009 Winner
Scenic Design by Anthony Ward

Best Lighting Design of a Play

2009 Nominee
Lighting Design by Hugh Vanstone

Best Sound Design of a Play

2009 Nominee
Sound Design by Paul Arditti

Drama Desk Award


Outstanding Actress in a Play

2009 Winner
Janet McTeer

Outstanding Lighting Design in a Play

2009 Nominee
Lighting Design by Hugh Vanstone
Week Ending Gross % Gross Pot. Attendance % Capacity # Previews # Perf.
Statistics supplied are courtesy of The Broadway League.

More Productions by Opening Date