facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Heiress   

Broadhurst Theatre, (4/20/1976 - 5/09/1976)
First Preview: Apr 15, 1976 Total Previews: 5
Opening Date: Apr 20, 1976    
Closing Date: May 09, 1976 Total Performances: 23

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Setting: The front parlor of Doctor Sloper's house in Washington Square. 1850.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Steven Beckler and Thomas C. Smith; Associate Producer: Ken Morse
Originally produced for the Kennedy Center by The Kennedy Center - Xerox Corporation (Roger L. Stevens, Producer; Richmond Crinkley, Producer)
Written by Ruth Goetz and Augustus Goetz; Based on the novel "Washington Square" by Henry James
Directed by George Keathley
Scenic Design by Oliver Smith; Costume Design by Ann Roth; Lighting Design by David F. Segal; Hair Design by J. Roy Helland
General Manager: Theatre Now, Inc.
Stage Manager: Joe Lorden; Technical Supervisor: Mitch Miller
General Press Representative: Betty Lee Hunt Associates, Inc.; Advertising: The Blaine Thompson Company
Jane Alexander
Catherine Sloper
Richard Kiley
Dr. Austin Sloper
Jan Miner
Lavinia Penniman
David Selby
Morris Townsend
Roger Baron
Arthur Townsend
Dorothy Blackburn
Elizabeth Almond
Toni Darnay
Mrs. Montgomery
William Gibberson
Cecilia Hart
Marian Almond
Sharon Laughlin
Understudies: Roger Baron (Morris Townsend), Toni Darnay (Lavinia Penniman), William Gibberson (Dr. Austin Sloper), Sharon Laughlin (Catherine Sloper, Marian Almond), Joe Lorden (Arthur Townsend, Coachman) and Diana Mathews (Elizabeth Almond, Lavinia Penniman, Maria, Mrs. Montgomery)
Drama Desk Award
1976 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee]
Richard Kiley
1976 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Toni Darnay