facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Poison Tree   

Ambassador Theatre, (1/08/1976 - 1/11/1976)
First Preview: Jan 07, 1976 Total Previews: 2
Opening Date: Jan 08, 1976    
Closing Date: Jan 11, 1976 Total Performances: 5

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A Western State Prison.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Emanuel Azenberg, William W. Bradley, Marvin A. Krauss and Irving Siders
Written by Ronald Ribman
Directed by Charles Blackwell
Scenic Design by Marjorie Kellogg; Lighting Design by Martin Aronstein; Costume Design by Judy Dearing; Associate to Mr. Aronstein: Lawrence Metzler
General Manager: Jose Véga; Assistant Gen. Mgr: Douglas C. Baker
Production Manager: Henry Velez; Stage Manager: Robert St. Clair, Steven Shaw and Gene O'Neill
General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; Press Representative: Leo Stern and Susan L. Schulman
The producers gratefully acknowledge the assistance of The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Moses Gunn
Benjamin Hurspool
Cleavon Little
Willy Stepp
Peter Masterson
Officer DiSantis
Dick Anthony Williams
Bobby Foster
Northern J. Calloway
Charles Jefferson
Robert Symonds
Sgt. Coyne
Daniel Barton
Broadway debut
Walter Turner
Charles Brown
Officer Lloyd
Arlen Dean
Officer Friezer
Pat McNamara
Broadway debut
Officer Rollock
Danny Meehan
Albert Heisenman
Gene O'Neill
Broadway debut
Officer Lowery
Dennis Tate
Smiling Man
Understudies: Charles Brown (Bobby Foster), Arlen Dean (Officer DiSantis), Charles Douglass (Charles Jefferson, Officer Lloyd, Smiling Man, Walter Turner), Arthur French (Benjamin Hurspool, Willy Stepp), Frank Hamilton (Albert Heisenman, Sgt. Coyne) and Steven Shaw (Officer Friezer, Officer Lowery, Officer Rollock)
Tony Award®
1976 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Moses Gunn