facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Zalmen or The Madness of God   

Lyceum Theatre, (3/17/1976 - 4/03/1976)
First Preview: Mar 11, 1976 Total Previews: 5
Opening Date: Mar 17, 1976    
Closing Date: Apr 03, 1976 Total Performances: 22

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A small town somewhere in Russia. The Synagogue. The Late Fifties.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Moe Septee
Originally produced by the Arena Stage (Zelda Fichandler: Artistic Director)
Written by Elie Wiesel; Stage adaptation by Marion Wiesel
Directed by Alan Schneider; Assistant Director: Susan Einhorn
Scenic Design by William Ritman; Costume Design by Marjorie Slaiman; Lighting Design by Richard Nelson
General Manager: Laurel Ann Wilson; Company Manager: Donald Tirabassi
Production Stage Manager: R. Derek Swire; Stage Manager: Ted Harris; Assistant Stage Mgr: Michael Haney
General Press Representative: Max Eisen; Press Representative: Barbara Glenn; Press Assistant: Judy Jacksina; Advertising: Matthew Serino and The Blaine Thompson Company
Joseph Wiseman
The Rabbi
Polly Adams
the Rabbi's daughter
Richard Bauer
David Little
Nina's husband
David Margulies
The Doctor
Member of the Synagogue Council
Paul Sparer
The Chairman of The Synagogue Council
Lee Wallace
The Inspector from The Ministry of Religious Affairs
Irwin Atkins
3rd Guard
Edwin Bordo
Member of the Synagogue Council
Carl Don
Member of the Synagogue Council
Nancy Dutton
The Secretary
Rodman Flender
Nina's son
Michael Gorrin
Michael Haney
1st Guard
Jack Hollander
The Commissar
Zviah Igdalsky
John B. Jellison
2nd Guard
Warren Pincus
Member of the Synagogue Council
David Reinhardsen
Member of the Synagogue Council
Sanford Seeger
Member of the Synagogue Council
Standby: Jonathan Weisgal (Mischa)
Understudies: Irwin Atkins (The Rabbi), Edwin Bordo (The Chairman of The Synagogue Council, The Doctor), Carl Don (Avrom), Nancy Dutton (Feige, Nina), Michael Haney (Chaim), Jack Hollander (The Inspector from The Ministry of Religious Affairs), John B. Jellison (Srul, Zalmen), David Reinhardsen (Alexei) and Sanford Seeger (The Commissar)