facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Front Page   

Vivian Beaumont Theatre, (11/23/1986 - 1/11/1987)
First Preview: Oct 31, 1986 Total Previews: 28
Opening Date: Nov 23, 1986    
Closing Date: Jan 11, 1987 Total Performances: 57

Category: Play, Comedy, Revival, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: The Press Room of the Criminal Courts Building in Chicago. 1928.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Written by Charles MacArthur and Ben Hecht
Directed by Jerry Zaks
Scenic Design by Tony Walton; Costume Design by Willa Kim; Lighting Design by Paul Gallo; Sound Design by Otts Munderloh; Set Decoration by Vaughan Edwards
LCT General Manager: Steven C. Callahan; Company Manager: Lynn Landis
LCT Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin; Production Stage Manager: George Darveris; Deck Stage Manager: Chet Leaming; Production Supervisor: Joseph Busheme
Special Effects by Zeller International, Ltd.
LCT General Press Agent: Merle Debuskey; LCT Director of Development: Barbara M. Groves; LCT Director of Marketing: Thomas Cott; Casting: Risa Bramon and Billy Hopkins; Marketing: Ziff Marketing; Advertising: Russek Advertising; Poster Design by James McMullan
Amanda Carlin
A Woman
Ronn Carroll
Journal of Commerce
Jerome Dempsey
The Mayor
Patrick Garner
A Policeman
Julie Hagerty
Peggy Grant
Ed Lauter
Philip LeStrange
a Deputy
John Lithgow
Walter Burns
Beverly May
Mrs. Grant
Bill McCutcheon
Mr. Pincus
Bernie McInerney
Deirdre O'Connell
Mollie Malloy
Richard Peterson
A Policeman
Michael Rothhaar
a Deputy
Raymond Serra
Diamond Louis
Richard B. Shull
Sheriff Hartman
Paul Stolarsky
Earl Williams
Charles Stransky
Richard Thomas
Hildy Johnson
Herald Examiner
Jack Wallace
Woodenshoes Eichorn
Jeff Weiss
Lee Wilkof
Daily News
Trey Wilson
City Press
Mary Catherine Wright
Understudies: Amanda Carlin (Mollie Malloy, Peggy Grant), Anita Dangler (Jennie, Mrs. Grant), Patrick Garner (Carl, Earl Williams, Frank, Mr. Pincus), Philip LeStrange (Endicott, McCue, Murphy, Wilson), Richard Peterson (Bensinger, Kruger, Schwartz, Tony) and Michael Rothhaar (A Policeman, Diamond Louis, Hildy Johnson, Woodenshoes Eichorn)
Tony Award®
1987 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Tony Walton
1987 Best Revival [nominee]
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Drama Desk Award
1987 Outstanding Set Design [nominee]
Scenic Design by Tony Walton