Opening Date
Oct 07, 1979
Closing Date
Jan 06, 1980
1st Preview
Sep 25, 1979
1st Preview
Sep 25, 1979


St. James Theatre
(Oct 07, 1979 - Jan 06, 1980)

WOV Broadcast Studios, Algonquin Room of the Hotel Astor, NYC. December 21, 1942.

Originally produced in 1974 by The Ensemble Company; Subsequently produced in 1977 at Yale Repertory Theatre (Robert Brustein, Artistic Director); Further Developed and produced in 1978 at Arena Stage (Zelda Fichandler: Artistic Director)
Directed by Walton Jones; Musical Staging by Thommie Walsh; Conceived by Walton Jones and Carol Lees
Scenic Design by David Gropman; Costume Design by William Ivey Long; Lighting Design by Tharon Musser; Sound Design by Otts Munderloh; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley; Make-Up Design by Angela Gari
General Manager: Frank Scardino; Company Manager: Susan Bell
Production Stage Manager: Ed Aldridge; Stage Manager: Craig Jacobs; Assistant Stage Mgr: James Lockhart; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah Harris
Musical Supervisor: Stanley Lebowsky; Music Contractor: Mel Rodnon; Assistant Conductor: Paul Schierhorn
Furs by Michael Forrest; General Press Representative: The Merlin Group, Ltd.; Advertising: J. Walter Thompson; Casting: Johnson-Liff Associates; Poster Art by Paul dePass
Charlie "Kid Lips" Snyder
Connie Miller
Bonnie Cavanaugh
Geneva Lee Browne
Custis Jones
Fess "Snookie" Davenport
Biff Baker
Moe "Lockjaw" Ambrose
Scoops Millikan
Pops Bailey
Bob "Bobo" Lewis
Lou Cohn
Neal Tilden
Wally Fergusson
Ann Collier
B. J. Gibson
Johnny Cantone
Zoot Doubleman
Neeley "Flap" Kovacs
Pieface Minelli
Ned "Woof" Bennett
Fritz Canigliaro
Totts Schoenfeld
Phil Bentley
Gus Bracken
Clifton A. Feddington
WOV Page
Buzz Cranshaw
Ginger Brooks
Standby: Bob Freschi (Johnny Cantone, Neal Tilden), Etta Green (Geneva Lee Browne), Susan Elizabeth Scott (Ann Collier, Ginger Brooks) and Lynn Stafford (Biff Baker, Wally Fergusson, Stanley)
Understudies: James Lockhart (Pops Bailey, Lou Cohn, Clifton A. Feddington), John Sloman (B. J. Gibson) and Jo Speros (Connie Miller)
Chattanooga Choo-Choo
(music by Harry Warren; lyrics by Mack Gordon)
Clifton A. Feddington, Ann Collier, Geneva Lee Browne, Neal Tilden, B. J. Gibson, Connie Miller and Wally Fergusson
Pepsi Cola Radio Jingle
Neal Tilden, B. J. Gibson, Connie Miller, Ginger Brooks and Clifton A. Feddington
(music by Bobby Troupe; lyrics by Bobby Troupe)
The Band and Connie Miller
Our Love Is Here to Stay
(music by George Gershwin; lyrics by Ira Gershwin)
Johnny Cantone
That Old Black Magic
(music by Harold Arlen; lyrics by Johnny Mercer)
Ann Collier
Ain't She Sweet
(music by Milton Ager; lyrics by Jack Yellen)
Biff Baker, B. J. Gibson, Ginger Brooks, Geneva Lee Browne and All
How About You
(music by Burton Lane)
B. J. Gibson and Connie Miller
Blue Moon
(music by Richard Rodgers; lyrics by Lorenz Hart)
Neal Tilden
All Girls
Rose of the Rio Grande
(music by Harry Warren; lyrics by Edgar Leslie)
Geneva Lee Browne, Men and Band
I'll Never Smile Again
(music by Ruth Lowe; lyrics by Ruth Lowe)
Neal Tilden, B. J. Gibson, Ann Collier, Ginger Brooks, Connie Miller and Johnny Cantone
Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy
(music by Hughie Prince and Don Raye; lyrics by Hughie Prince and Don Raye)
B. J. Gibson, Connie Miller and Ginger Brooks
Blues in the Night
(music by Harold Arlen; lyrics by Johnny Mercer)
Ginger Brooks and Men
Jingle Bells
Biff Baker, Neal Tilden and Group
I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
(music by Duke Ellington; lyrics by Paul Francis Webster)
Geneva Lee Browne
At Last
(music by Harry Warren; lyrics by Mack Gordon)
B. J. Gibson
Little Brown Jug
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
(music by Ralph Blane and Hugh Martin; lyrics by Ralph Blane and Hugh Martin)
Ann Collier
Strike Up the Band
(music by George Gershwin; lyrics by Ira Gershwin)
Full Company
I'll Be Seeing You
(music by Sammy Fain; lyrics by Irving Kahal)
Full Company
The Mutual Manhattan Cavalcade ThemeBand
(music by Stanley Lebowsky)

Drama Desk Award


Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

1980 Nominee
Joe Grifasi
Jeff Keller

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

1980 Nominee
Crissy Wilzak

Outstanding Director of a Musical

1980 Nominee
Directed by Walton Jones

Outstanding Costume Design

1980 Nominee
Costume Design by William Ivey Long

Theatre World


1980 Recipient
Stephen James

More Productions by Opening Date