facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Cafe Crown   

Brooks Atkinson Theatre, (2/18/1989 - 3/26/1989)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Feb 18, 1989    
Closing Date: Mar 26, 1989 Total Performances: 45

Category: Play, Comedy, Revival, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: The Cafe Crown, Second Avenue and 12th Street in New York City. An Autumn Evening. 1940.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President; Arthur Rubin: Vice-President)
Produced by LeFrak Entertainment, James M. Nederlander, Francine LeFrak, James L. Nederlander and Arthur Rubin
Originally produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival (Joseph Papp, Producer)
Written by Hy Kraft
Directed by Martin Charnin
Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto; Costume Design by Santo Loquasto; Lighting Design by Richard Nelson; Sound Consultant: Peter Fitzgerald; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley
General Manager: Joseph Harris and Peter T. Kulok
Production Stage Manager: Thomas A. Kelly; Stage Manager: Lisa Buxbaum; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris Associates
Casting: Rosemarie Tichler and Nancy Piccione; Press Representative: Shirley Herz Associates and Richard Kornberg & Associates; Advertising: Weiner Associates; Photographer: Martha Swope
Bob Dishy
Anne Jackson
Anna Cole
Eli Wallach
David Cole
Walter Bobbie
George Burton
David Carroll
Marilyn Cooper
Ida Polan
Fyvush Finkel
George Guidall
David Margulies
Mendel Polan
Sidney Armus
Western Union Messenger
Carl Don
Felix Fibich
Tresa Hughes
Mrs. Perlman
Mitchell Jason
Jack Kenny
Bernie Passeltiner
Laura Sametz
Norma Cole
Steven Skybell
Lester Freed
Understudies: Jack Aaron (Beggar, Florist, Jacobson, Mendel Polan, Rubin, Western Union Messenger), Sidney Armus (Toplitz), Susan Bruce (Norma Cole), Maggie Burke (Ida Polan, Mrs. Perlman), George Guidall (David Cole), Tresa Hughes (Anna Cole), Jack Kenny (George Burton, Lester Freed, Walter), Bernie Passeltiner (Kaplan, Lipsky, Looie) and Maurice Shrog (Hymie, Sam)
Tony Award®
winner 1989 Best Scenic Design [winner]
Santo Loquasto
1989 Best Revival [nominee]
Produced by LeFrak Entertainment, James M. Nederlander, Francine LeFrak, James L. Nederlander and Arthur Rubin
Drama Desk Award
1989 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Fyvush Finkel
winner 1989 Outstanding Set Design [winner]
Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto