facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Don't Drink the Water   

Morosco Theatre, (11/17/1966 - 1/20/1968)
Ethel Barrymore Theatre, (1/22/1968 - 3/23/1968)
Belasco Theatre, (3/25/1968 - 4/20/1968)
First Preview: Nov 02, 1966 Total Previews: 19
Opening Date: Nov 17, 1966    
Closing Date: Apr 20, 1968 Total Performances: 598

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: An American Embassy somewhere behind the Iron Curtain.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization; Morosco Theatre Managing Director: Louis A. Lotito
Produced by David Merrick; Produced in association with Jack Rollins and Charles Joffe; Associate Producer: Samuel Liff
Written by Woody Allen
Directed by Stanley Prager
Scenic Design by Jo Mielziner; Lighting Design by Jo Mielziner; Costume Design by Motley; Sound Design by Lincoln J. Stulick; Production Sound: Robert Maybaum; Associate Designer: Paul Trautvetter; Assistant to Mr. Mielziner: Leor C. Warner
Company Manager: Richard Osorio
Stage Manager: Jim Stevenson; Production Manager: Ross Bowman; Assistant Stage Mgr: John Hallow
General Press Representative: Harvey B. Sabinson and Lee Solters; Press Representative: Jay Russell; Casting Director: Linda Otto; Associate Casting Director: Geoffrey Johnson; Advertising: Blaine-Thompson and Fred Golden; Assistant to Mr. Merrick: Helen Nickerson; Staff Associate: Sylvia Schwartz and Lynn Middleton
Lou Jacobi
Walter Hollander
Kay Medford
Marion Hollander
Anthony Roberts
Axel Magee
Anita Gillette
Susan Hollander
Luke Andreas
Jonathan Bolt
Oliver Clark
The Sultan of Bashir
James Dukas
John Hallow
House Jameson
Ambassador James F. Magee
Dick Libertini
Father Drobney
Gerry Matthews
Donna Mills
Sultan's 1st Wife
Sharon Talbot
Countess Bordoni
Gene Varrone
Curtis Wheeler
Standby: Merle Albertson (Marion Hollander) and Don De Leo (Walter Hollander)
Understudies: Luke Andreas (Chef, Krojack, The Sultan of Bashir), Jonathan Bolt (Axel Magee), John Hallow (Ambassador James F. Magee, Burns, Father Drobney), Donna Mills (Susan Hollander) and Jim Stevenson (Kaznar, Kilroy)