facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Guys and Dolls    A Musical Fable of Broadway

Broadway Theatre, (7/21/1976 - 2/13/1977)
First Preview: Jul 11, 1976 Total Previews: 12
Opening Date: Jul 21, 1976    
Closing Date: Feb 13, 1977 Total Performances: 239

Category: Musical, Comedy, All Black Cast, Revival, Broadway
Setting: Broadway; Save-a-Soul Mission; San Juan, Puerto Rico; The Hot Box Club.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Moe Septee; Produced in association with Victor H. Potamkin, Frank Enterprises and Beresford Productions, Ltd.; Associate Producer: Ashton Springer and Carmen F. Zollo
Music by Frank Loesser; Lyrics by Frank Loesser; Book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows; Based on a story and characters of Damon Runyon; Music arranged by Danny Holgate and Horace Ott; Music orchestrated by Danny Holgate and Horace Ott; Musical Director: Howard Roberts; Choral arrangements by Howard Roberts
Directed by Billy Wilson; Choreographed by Billy Wilson; Entire Production Under the Supervision of Abe Burrows
Scenic Design by Tom H. John; Costume Design by Bernard Johnson; Lighting Design by Thomas Skelton; Sound Design by Sander Hacker; Hair Design by Irvin Dett
General Manager: Laurel Ann Wilson; Company Manager: Donald Tirabassi
Production Stage Manager: R. Derek Swire; Stage Manager: Clinton Jackson
Conducted by Howard Roberts
Promotion Consultant: Norman Kean; Assistant to Mr. Wilson: Charles Augins; General Press Representative: Max Eisen; Press Representative: Barbara Glenn; Dance Captain: Andy Torres; Advertising: Matthew Serino, Stuart Roeder and The Blaine Thompson Company; Casting: Mikki Powell
Norma Donaldson
Miss Adelaide
Robert Guillaume
Nathan Detroit
Ernestine Jackson
Sarah Brown
James Randolph
Sky Masterson
Edye Byrde
General Matilda B. Cartwright
Clark Morgan
Lt. Brannigan
Ken Page
Nicely-Nicely Johnson
Christophe Pierre
Benny Southstreet
Emett "Babe" Wallace
Arvide Abernathy
Derrick Bell
Broadway debut
Joey Biltmore
Toney Brealond
Jymie Charles
Angie the Ox
Bardell Conner
Mission Band
Prudence Darby
Irene Datcher
Mission Band
Alvin Davis
Swing Dancer
Jacquelyn DuBois
Anna Maria Fowlkes
Helen Gelzer
Nathan Jennings, Jr.
Julia Lema
Bill Mackey
Sterling McQueen
Rusty Charlie
Marion Moore
Mission Band
John Russell
Broadway debut
Harry the Horse
Jacqueline Smith-Lee
Andy Torres
Hot Box MC
Freda T. Vanterpool
Swing Dancer
Walter White
Big Jule
Eddie Wright, Jr.
Understudies: Derrick Bell (Drunk), Toney Brealond (Big Jule), Jymie Charles (Nathan Detroit, Nicely-Nicely Johnson), Irene Datcher (Sarah Brown), Helen Gelzer (General Matilda B. Cartwright, Miss Adelaide), Nathan Jennings, Jr. (Sky Masterson), Julia Lema (Agatha, Mimi), Bill Mackey (Harry the Horse, Rusty Charlie), John Russell (Arvide Abernathy), Andy Torres (Benny Southstreet) and Eddie Wright, Jr. (Rusty Charlie)
Tony Award®
1977 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Robert Guillaume
1977 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Ernestine Jackson
1977 Most Innovative Production of a Revival [nominee]
Produced by Moe Septee, Carmen F. Zollo and Ashton Springer; Produced in association with Victor H. Potamkin
Drama Desk Award
1977 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Robert Guillaume
1977 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Ernestine Jackson
Theatre World
winner 1977 Award [recipient]
Ken Page
music by Frank Loesser; lyrics by Frank Loesser
ACT 1 Sung By
Fugue for Tinhorns Nicely-Nicely Johnson, Benny Southstreet and Rusty Charlie
Follow the Fold Sarah Brown, Arvide Abernathy, Calvin, Agatha and Priscilla
The Oldest Established Nathan Detroit, Nicely-Nicely Johnson, Benny Southstreet and Ensemble
I'll Know Sarah Brown and Sky Masterson
A Bushel and a Peck Miss Adelaide and Hot Box Girls
Adelaide's Lament Miss Adelaide
Guys and Dolls Nicely-Nicely Johnson and Benny Southstreet
Havana Dancer and Ensemble
If I Were a Bell Sarah Brown
My Time of Day Sky Masterson
I've Never Been in Love Before Sky Masterson and Sarah Brown
ACT 2 Sung By
Take Back Your Mink Miss Adelaide and Hot Box Girls
More I Cannot Wish You Arvide Abernathy
The Crap Game Dance (Crapshooter's Dance) Ensemble
Luck Be a Lady Sky Masterson and Crap Shooters
Sue Me Nathan Detroit and Miss Adelaide
Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat Nicely-Nicely Johnson and Ensemble
Marry the Man Today Miss Adelaide and Sarah Brown