facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Moon for the Misbegotten   

Morosco Theatre, (12/29/1973 - 11/17/1974)
First Preview: Dec 26, 1973 Total Previews: 4
Opening Date: Dec 29, 1973    
Closing Date: Nov 17, 1974 Total Performances: 313

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Description: A drama in four acts
Setting: The farmhouse. Early September, 1923.
Comments: The show was on layoff from July 13 through September 3, 1974.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Coronet Theatre Corporation (Lester Osterman and Richard Horner)
Produced by Elliot Martin and Lester Osterman Productions (Lester Osterman, Richard Horner)
Written by Eugene O'Neill
Directed by José Quintero
Scenic Design by Ben Edwards; Costume Design by Jane Greenwood; Lighting Design by Ben Edwards
General Manager: Leonard Soloway
Production Stage Manager: Jane E. Neufeld; Assistant Stage Mgr: Ken Marsolais
General Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz; Associate Press Representative: Patricia McLean Krawitz
Colleen Dewhurst
Josie Hogan
Jason Robards
James Tyrone, Jr.
Ed Flanders
Phil Hogan
Josie's father
Edwin J. McDonough
Mike Hogan
Josie's brother
John O'Leary
T. Stedman Harder
Standby: Jacqueline Brookes (Josie Hogan) and James Karen (James Tyrone, Jr.)
Understudies: Ken Marsolais (Mike Hogan, T. Stedman Harder) and John O'Leary (Phil Hogan)
Tony Award®
1974 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Jason Robards
winner 1974 Best Actress in a Play [winner]
Colleen Dewhurst
winner 1974 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner]
Ed Flanders
1974 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Ben Edwards
winner 1974 Best Direction of a Play [winner]
José Quintero
winner 1974 Special Award [recipient]
Elliot Martin
winner 1974 Special Award [recipient]
Lester Osterman Productions (Lester Osterman, Richard Horner)
Drama Desk Award
winner 1974 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Colleen Dewhurst; Jason Robards; Ed Flanders
winner 1974 Outstanding Director [winner]
Directed by José Quintero