facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Desperate Hours   

Ethel Barrymore Theatre, (2/10/1955 - 8/13/1955)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Feb 10, 1955    
Closing Date: Aug 13, 1955 Total Performances: 212

Category: Play, Melodrama, Original, Broadway
Setting: The City of Indianapolis. Time: The Present.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by Howard Erskine and Joseph Hayes
Written by Joseph Hayes; From the novel of the same name by Joseph Hayes
Staged by Robert Montgomery
Scenic Design by Howard Bay; Lighting Design by Howard Bay; Costume Design by Robert Randolph; Assistant to Mr. Bay: Carl Kent and Ralph Holmes
General Manager: S.M. Handelsman
Production Manager: Clayre Ribner; Production Stage Manager: Howard Whitfield; Stage Manager: William Weaver; Assistant Stage Mgr: Joe Bishop
Press Representative: Marian Byram and Phyllis Perlman; Press Associate: David Powers; Advertising Representative: Fred Golden
Nancy Coleman
Eleanor Hillard
Karl Malden
Dan Hillard
Paul Newman
Glenn Griffin
George Matthews
Wyrley Birch
Mr. Patterson
Malcolm Brodrick
Ralphie Hillard
Kendall Clark
Harry Carson
Fred Eisley
Chuck Wright
James Gregory
Jesse Bard
George Grizzard
Hank Griffin
Rusty Lane
Lt. Carl Fredericks
Mary Orr
Miss Swift
Patricia Peardon
Cindy Hillard
Judson Pratt
Tom Winston
Tony Award®
winner 1955 Best Play [winner]
Written by Joseph Hayes; Produced by Howard Erskine and Joseph Hayes
winner 1955 Best Direction [winner]
Robert Montgomery