facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Crucifer of Blood   

Helen Hayes Theatre, (9/28/1978 - 4/22/1979)
First Preview: Sep 14, 1978 Total Previews: 16
Opening Date: Sep 28, 1978    
Closing Date: Apr 22, 1979 Total Performances: 236

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Description: A play in six scenes
Setting: The Red Fort at Agra, India (1857), 221-B Baker Street (1887), Pondicherry Lodge at Maidenhead, the Gate of a Hundred Sorrows, and on the River Thames

Production Staff
Theatre Operated by Lester Osterman
Produced by Lester Osterman, Richard Horner, Terry Allen Kramer and John Wulp
Originally produced at The Studio Arena Theatre (Neal DuBrock, Producer)
Written by Paul Giovanni; Based on characters created by Conan Doyle
Directed by Paul Giovanni
Scenic Design by John Wulp; Costume Design by Ann Roth; Lighting Design by Roger Morgan; Sound Design by Leonard Will; Make-Up Design by Joe Cranzano; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley
Company Manager: Malcolm Allen
Production Stage Manager: Robert L. Borod; Stage Manager: Robert Charles and Alisa Jill Adler; Technical Advisor: Mitch Miller
Special Effects by Bran Ferren
Dialect Coach: Elizabeth Smith; Poster Design by Robert Van Nutt; Consultant for military uniforms and Police Launch design: Robert Van Nutt; Stunt work Coached by Martin LaPlatney; Scenery Supervised by Lynn Pecktal; General Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz; Press Representative: Louise Weiner Ment and Patricia McLean Krawitz; Casting Consultant: Terry Fay; Advertising: The Entertainment Group of J.W.T.; Photographer: Martha Swope
Paxton Whitehead
Sherlock Holmes
Glenn Close
Irene St. Claire
Christopher Curry
Jonathan Small
Andrew Davis
Mohammed Singh
A Mohammedan
Mordecai Smith
A Sailor
Martin LaPlatney
A Policeman
Timothy Landfield
John Watson, M.D.
Melvin Lum
Fung Tching
A Chinaman
Tuck Milligan
Wali Dad
An Afghan
Birdy Johnson
Roumel Reaux
Dwight Schultz
Major Alistair Ross
Nicolas Surovy
Captain Neville St. Claire
Edward Zang
Durga Dass
A Hindu
Inspector Lestrade
Understudies: Cynthia Carle (Irene St. Claire), Andrew Davis (Birdy Johnson, Jonathan Small, Wali Dad), Richard Fancy (Durga Dass, Inspector Lestrade, Major Alistair Ross), Mark Hoyt (Hopkins, Mohammed Singh), Jeffrey Jones (Sherlock Holmes), Martin LaPlatney (Captain Neville St. Claire, John Watson, M.D., Mordecai Smith) and Tobee Roberts (Tonga)
Tony Award®
1979 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
John Wulp
1979 Best Costume Design [nominee]
Ann Roth
winner 1979 Best Lighting Design [winner]
Roger Morgan
1979 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Paul Giovanni
Drama Desk Award
winner 1979 Outstanding Lighting Design [winner]
Roger Morgan
winner 1979 Outstanding Set Design [winner]
Scenic Design by John Wulp