facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Plymouth Theatre, (10/24/1974 - 9/11/1976)
Helen Hayes Theatre, (10/05/1976 - 10/02/1977)
First Preview: Oct 14, 1974 Total Previews:
Opening Date: Oct 24, 1974    
Closing Date: Oct 02, 1977 Total Performances: 1209

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: The Present. Rokeby Psychiatric Hospital in Southern England.

Production Staff
Plymouth Theatre Owned/Operated by: The Shubert Organization (Executive Directors: Irving Goldman, Bernard B. Jacobs, Gerald Schoenfeld)
Produced by Kermit Bloomgarden and Doris Cole Abrahams; Produced in association with Frank Milton
Written by Peter Shaffer; Cinema Music: Cy Coleman
Directed by John Dexter
Scenic Design by John Napier; Costume Design by John Napier; Lighting Design by Andy Phillips; Sound Design by Marc Wilkinson
General Manager: Max Allentuck
Production Stage Manager: Robert L. Borod; Stage Manager: Nicholas Russiyan; Assistant Stage Mgr: Michael Wieben
Mime: Claude Chagrin; American supervision of scenery and lighting: Howard Bay; American supervision of costumes: Patricia Adshead; General Press Representative: John Springer Associates; Press Representative: Louis Sica; Graphic Design: Gilbert Lesser; Advertising: The Blaine Thompson Company and Matthew Serino; Assistant to Mr. Bloomgarden: John Bloomgarden; Assistant to the Director: Gabriel Oshen; Production Assistant: Scott Rudin
Peter Firth
Alan Strang
Anthony Hopkins
Martin Dysart
Michael Higgins
Frank Strang
Roberta Maxwell
Jill Mason
Marian Seldes
Hesther Saloman
Frances Sternhagen
Dora Strang
Mary Doyle
Gus Kaikkonen
Philip Kraus
Walter Mathews
Harry Dalton
Everett McGill
Young Horseman
Gabriel Oshen
David Ramsey
John Tyrrell
Standby: Alan Mixon (Martin Dysart)
Understudies: Mary Doyle (Dora Strang, Hesther Saloman), Dale Hodges (Jill Mason, Nurse), Thomas Hulce (Alan Strang), Philip Kraus (Harry Dalton, Nugget, Young Horseman), Walter Mathews (Frank Strang) and Michael Wieben (Horse)
Tony Award®
winner 1975 Best Play [winner]
Written by Peter Shaffer; Produced by Kermit Bloomgarden and Doris Cole Abrahams
1975 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Peter Firth
1975 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Frances Sternhagen
1975 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Andy Phillips
winner 1975 Best Direction of a Play [winner]
John Dexter
Drama Desk Award
winner 1975 Outstanding Actor in a Play [winner]
Anthony Hopkins
1975 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee]
Peter Firth
winner 1975 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [winner]
Frances Sternhagen
winner 1975 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner]
Directed by John Dexter
winner 1975 Outstanding New Play (Foreign) [winner]
Produced by Kermit Bloomgarden and Doris Cole Abrahams; Written by Peter Shaffer
1975 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee]
John Napier
1975 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee]
Andy Phillips
1975 Outstanding Set Design [nominee]
Scenic Design by John Napier
Theatre World
winner 1975 Award [recipient]
Peter Firth