facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Breaking the Code   

Neil Simon Theatre, (11/15/1987 - 4/10/1988)
First Preview: Nov 07, 1987 Total Previews: 9
Opening Date: Nov 15, 1987    
Closing Date: Apr 10, 1988 Total Performances: 169

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: England. 1929-1954.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President; Arthur Rubin: Vice-President)
Produced by Jerome Minskoff, Duncan C. Weldon, James M. Nederlander, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and ANTA (Alfred de Liagre Jr: executive producer; Jean Dalrymple: executive director); Produced by arrangement with Triumph Theatre Productions, LTD. and Michael Redington
Written by Hugh Whitemore; Based on the book "Alan Turing, The Enigma" by Andrew Hodges
Directed by Clifford Williams
Scenic Design by Liz da Costa; Costume Design by Liz da Costa; Lighting Design by Natasha Katz
General Manager: Joseph Harris Associates, Inc.; Company Manager: Steven H. David
Production Stage Manager: Susie Cordon; Stage Manager: Laura deBuys; Assistant Stage Mgr: Mary-Susan Gregson; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah Harris Associates
Sound Effects by Peter Still
Casting: Hughes / Moss Casting; General Press Representative: The Fred Nathan Company, Inc.; Advertising: Fisher / LeDonne / Wilner
Derek Jacobi
Alan Turing
Jenny Agutter
Pat Green
Richard Clarke
John Smith
Michael Dolan
Ron Miller
Michael Gough
Dillwyn Knox
Rachel Gurney
Sara Turing
Robert Sean Leonard
Christopher Morcom
Andreas Manolikakis
Colm Meaney
Mick Ross
Understudies: Lucy Martin (Pat Green, Sara Turing), Michael David Morrison (Christopher Morcom, Nikos, Ron Miller), Richard Neilson (Dillwyn Knox, John Smith, Mick Ross) and David Silber (Alan Turing)
Tony Award®
1988 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Derek Jacobi
1988 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Michael Gough
1988 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Clifford Williams
Drama Desk Award
1988 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee]
Derek Jacobi
1988 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Michael Gough