facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Royal Hunt of the Sun   

ANTA Playhouse, (10/26/1965 - 6/11/1966)
First Preview: Oct 11, 1965 Total Previews: 16
Opening Date: Oct 26, 1965    
Closing Date: Jun 11, 1966 Total Performances: 261

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Apart from two early scenes in Spain and Panama, the play is set in the Upper Province of the Inca Empire: what is now South Ecuador and North Western Peru. June 1529 - 1533.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by ANTA, Inc.
Produced by The Theatre Guild (Philip Langner, Joel Schenker, Armina Marshall, Warren Caro), Theodore Mann and Gerard Oestreicher; Produced in association with Hope Abelson; Produced by arrangement with David Susskind and Daniel Melnick; Associate Producer: Don Herbert
Written by Peter Shaffer; Incidental music by Marc Wilkinson; Musical Director: Herbert Harris; Additional music by Steve Silverman
Directed by John Dexter; Choreographed by Mme. Claude Chagrin
Scenic Design by Michael Annals; Costume Design by Michael Annals; Lighting Design by Martin Aronstein; New York Production Supervised by George Jenkins and Ben Edwards; Indian Headdresses by Cynthia Scott; Masks for Lament scene by John Gunther; Spanish armor and helmets by William Wallace Bellin; Make-up for Christopher Plummer by John Haag Jiras
General Manager: Paul Libin; Producer's Representative Theatre Guild-Oestreicher: Walter Fried
Production Stage Manager: Randall Brooks; Stage Manager: Maxine S. Taylor; Assistant Stage Mgr: Robert Bishop
Musician: Herbert Harris, Norman Grossman, Charles Birch and Steve Silverman; Assistant Conductor: Norman Grossman
Sound Effects by Marc Wilkinson
Costumes executed by Ray Diffen Stage Clothes; General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; Press Representative: Violet Welles and Larry Belling; Advertising: Brownstone Associates; Casting: Alan Shayne Associates
Christopher Plummer
Francisco Pizarro
Commander of the Expedition
David Carradine
Sovereign Inca of Peru
George Rose
Martin Ruiz
Cal Bellini
Pedro de Candia
Commander of Artillery
Robert Berdeen
Barry Burns
Peruvian Indian
Clyde Burton
Juan Chavez
Tony Capodilupo
Paul Charles
Peruvian Indian
Kurt Christien
Peruvian Indian
John Church
Pedro Chavez
Paul Collins
Martin Ruiz as a boy
Clayton Corbin
an Inca General
Thayer David
Miguel Estete
Royal Overseer
Jake Dengel
B.J. DeSimone
Peruvian Indian
Edilio Ferraro
Peruvian Indian
Ben Hammer
Fray Vincente de Valverde
Dominican, Chaplain to the Expedition
Judd Jones
Michael Lamont
Diego de Trujillo
Master of the Horse
Sandy Leeds
a wife of Atahuallpa
Michael Levin
Fray Marcos de Nizza
Franciscan Friar
Roy Lozano
Peruvian Indian
Marc Maskin
a Messenger
Héctor Mercado
Peruvian Indian
Ken Novarro
Peruvian Indian
Nelson Phillips
Mylo Quam
Villac Umu
High Priest of Peru
Gregory Rozakis
an Indian boy employed as interpreter to Pizarro
George Sampson
Julie Sheppard
Inti Coussi
step-sister of Atahuallpa
Don Silber
Peruvian Indian
John Vernon
Hernardo de Soto
Understudies: Robert Berdeen (Felipillo), Barry Burns (Manco), Tony Capodilupo (Miguel Estete), Paul Charles (Martin Ruiz as a boy), Kurt Christien (Pedro Chavez), John Church (Domingo, Fray Marcos de Nizza, Fray Vincente de Valverde), Clayton Corbin (Atahuallpa), Thayer David (Martin Ruiz), B.J. DeSimone (Diego de Trujillo), Roy Lozano (Chieftain), Marc Maskin (Headman), George Sampson (Pedro de Candia, Rodas, Salinas, Vasca) and Don Silber (Challcuchima, Villac Umu)
Theatre World
winner 1966 Award [recipient]
David Carradine