facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

In the Heights   

Richard Rodgers Theatre, (3/09/2008 - 1/09/2011)
First Preview: Feb 14, 2008 Total Previews: 29
Opening Date: Mar 09, 2008    
Closing Date: Jan 09, 2011 Total Performances: 1184

Category: Musical, Original, Broadway
Setting: Washington Heights, New York City

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)
Produced by Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, Jill Furman, Sander Jacobs, Goodman/Grossman and Everett/Skipper; Associate Producer: Ruth Hendel and Harold Newman
Music by Lin-Manuel Miranda; Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda; Book by Quiara Alegría Hudes; Musical Director: Alex Lacamoire; Music arranged by Alex Lacamoire and Bill Sherman; Conceived by Lin-Manuel Miranda; Music orchestrated by Alex Lacamoire and Bill Sherman
Directed by Thomas Kail; Choreographed by Andy Blankenbuehler; Associate Choreographer: Joey Dowling
Scenic Design by Anna Louizos; Costume Design by Paul Tazewell; Lighting Design by Howell Binkley; Sound Design by Acme Sound Partners and Nevin Steinberg; Wig Design by Charles LaPointe; Associate Scenic Design: Donyale Werle and Todd Potter; Associate Costume Design: Michael Zecker; Associate Lighting Design: Mark T. Simpson; Associate Sound Design: Sten Severson
General Manager: John S. Corker and Lizbeth Cone; Company Manager: Brig Berney
Technical Supervisor: Brian Lynch; Production Stage Manager: J. Philip Bassett; Stage Manager: Amber Wedin
Conducted by Alex Lacamoire; Associate Conductor: Zachary Dietz; Lead Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Raul Agraz; Trumpet 2/Flugelhorn: Trevor Neumann; Trombone 1: Joe Fiedler; Trombone 2: Ryan Keberle; Saxophone/ Flute/Clarinet: Dave Richards; Saxophone/Flute/Piccolo: Kristy Norter; Drums, Latin/Brazilian percussion: Andrés Forero; Percussion, Mallets, Timpani, Latin/Brazilian percussion: Doug Hinrichs; Percussion, Latin/Brazilian percussion: Wilson Torres; Bass/Fretless electric bass: Irio O'Farrill, Jr.; Guitar, Acoustic nylon/steel-string guitars: Manny Moreira; Keyboard 1: Alex Lacamoire; Keyboard 2: Zachary Dietz; Music Copyist: Emily Grishman Music Preparation/Emily Grishman, Katharine Edmonds; Musical Coordinator: Michael Keller
Casting: Telsey + Company; Press Representative: Barlow-Hartman Public Relations; Marketing: Scott A. Moore; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Fight direction by Ron Piretti; Fight Captain: Michael Balderrama; Dance Captain: Michael Balderrama; Assistant Dance Captain: Stephanie Klemons; Photographer: Joan Marcus
Andréa Burns
Tony Chiroldes
Janet Dacal
Robin De Jesús
(Feb 14, 2008 - Feb 14, 2010)
Rosie Lani Fiedelman
Carlos Gomez
(Feb 14, 2008 - Dec 18, 2008)
Mandy Gonzalez
(Feb 14, 2008 - Jan 31, 2010)
Joshua Henry
Afra Hines
Christopher Jackson
Nina Lafarga
Priscilla Lopez
Olga Merediz
Abuela Claudia
Lin-Manuel Miranda
(Feb 14, 2008 - Feb 15, 2009)
Doreen Montalvo
Javier Muñoz
Karen Olivo
(Feb 14, 2008 - Nov 16, 2008)
Krysta Rodriguez
Eliseo Román
Piragua Guy
Luis Salgado
Seth Stewart
Grafitti Pete
(Feb 14, 2008 - Aug 25, 2009)
Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Rickey Tripp
Swings: Michael Balderrama, Blanca Camacho, Rogelio Douglas, Jr. and Stephanie Klemons
Understudies: Michael Balderrama (Grafitti Pete, Usnavi), Blanca Camacho (Abuela Claudia, Camila, Daniela), Tony Chiroldes (Kevin), Janet Dacal (Nina, Vanessa), Rogelio Douglas, Jr. (Benny), Joshua Henry (Benny), Stephanie Klemons (Carla), Nina Lafarga (Nina), Doreen Montalvo (Abuela Claudia, Camila, Daniela), Javier Muñoz (Sonny, Usnavi), Krysta Rodriguez (Carla, Nina, Vanessa), Eliseo Román (Kevin), Shaun Taylor-Corbett (Sonny, Usnavi) and Rickey Tripp (Grafitti Pete)
Tony Award®
winner 2008 Best Musical [winner]
Produced by Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, Jill Furman, Sander Jacobs, Goodman/Grossman and Everett/Skipper
2008 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by Quiara Alegría Hudes
winner 2008 Best Original Score Written for the Theatre [winner]
Music by Lin-Manuel Miranda; Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda
2008 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Lin-Manuel Miranda
2008 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Robin De Jesús
2008 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Olga Merediz
winner 2008 Best Choreography [winner]
Andy Blankenbuehler
2008 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee]
Thomas Kail
winner 2008 Best Orchestrations [winner]
Alex Lacamoire
winner 2008 Best Orchestrations [winner]
Bill Sherman
2008 Best Scenic Design of a Musical [nominee]
Scenic Design by Anna Louizos
2008 Best Costume Design of a Musical [nominee]
Costume Design by Paul Tazewell
2008 Best Lighting Design of a Musical [nominee]
Lighting Design by Howell Binkley
2008 Best Sound Design of a Musical [nominee]
Sound Design by Acme Sound Partners
Pulitzer Prize
2009 for Drama [nominee]
Book by Quiara Alegría Hudes; Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda; Music by Lin-Manuel Miranda
ACT 1 Sung By
In the Heights Usnavi and Company
Breathe Nina and Company
Benny's Dispatch Benny and Nina
It Won't Be Long Now Vanessa, Usnavi and Sonny
Inutil Kevin
No Me Diga Daniela, Carla, Vanessa and Nina
96,000 Usnavi, Benny, Sonny, Vanessa, Daniela, Carla and Company
Paciencia y Fe (Patience and Faith) Abuela Claudia and Company
When You're Home Nina, Benny and Company
Piragua Piragua Guy
Siempre (Always) Camila and Bolero Singer
The Club/Fireworks Company
ACT 2 Sung By
Sunrise Nina, Benny and Company
Hundreds of Stories Abuela Claudia, Benny and Company
Enough Camila
Carnaval del Barrio Daniela and Company
Atencion Kevin
Alabanza Usnavi, Nina and Company
Everything I Know Nina
No Me Diga (Reprise) Daniela, Carla and Vanessa
Champagne Vanessa and Usnavi
When the Sun Goes Down Nina and Benny
Finale Usnavi and Company