facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Marquis Theatre, (4/24/2008 - 6/22/2008)
First Preview: Mar 15, 2008 Total Previews: 45
Opening Date: Apr 24, 2008    
Closing Date: Jun 22, 2008 Total Performances: 68

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: Baltimore in 1954

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)
Produced by Adam Epstein, Allan S. Gordon, Élan V. McAllister, Brian Grazer, James P. MacGilvray, Universal Pictures, Anne Caruso, Adam S. Gordon, Latitude Link and Pelican Group; Produced in association with Philip Morgaman and Andrew Farber/Richard Mishaan
World Premiere produced by La Jolla Playhouse (Christopher Ashley, Artistic Director; Steven B. Libman, Managing Director)
Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan; Music by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Lyrics by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Based on the Universal Pictures film written and directed by: John Waters; Musical Director: Lynne Shankel; Incidental music by Lynne Shankel; Music arranged by Lynne Shankel; Music orchestrated by Christopher Jahnke; Dance Music Arranged by: David Chase; Music Producer: Steven M. Gold
Directed by Mark Brokaw; Choreographed by Rob Ashford; Associate Director: Moritz von Stuelpnagel; Associate Choreographer: Joey Pizzi
Scenic Design by Scott Pask; Costume Design by Catherine Zuber; Lighting Design by Howell Binkley; Sound Design by Peter Hylenski; Hair Design by Tom Watson; Make-Up Design by Randy Houston Mercer
General Manager: Alan Wasser and Allan Williams; Company Manager: Laura Kirspel; Associate Co. Mgr: Christopher D'Angelo
Production Stage Manager: Rolt Smith; Stage Manager: Andrea O. Saraffian; Production Manager: Juniper Street Productions
Conducted by Lynne Shankel; Associate Conductor: Henry Aronson; Keyboard 1: Lynne Shankel; Keyboard 2/Accordion: Henry Aronson; Guitar 1 (Electric/Acoustic/Harmonica/Banjo/Lap steel guitar): John Benthal; Guitar 2 (Electric/Acoustic/Ukelele/Mandolin): Chris Biesterfeldt; Violin 1/Mandolin: Cenovia Cummins; Violin 2/Mandolin: Maxim Moston; Violin/Viola: Orlando Wells; Cello: Sarah Seiver; Acoustic & electric bass: Steve Count; Drums/Percussion: Frank Pagano; Reed 1 (Tenor sax/Clarinet/Flute/Piccolo): Scott Kreitzer; Reed 2 (Alto sax/Clarinet/Bass Clarinet/Flute): Clifford Lyons; Reed 3 (Baritone sax/Bass Clarinet/Clarinet/Flute/ Bassoon): Roger Rosenberg; Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Brian O'Flaherty; Trombone/Bass Trombone/Tuba: Dan Levine; Percussion/Latin/Mallets/Toys/Timpani: Joe Mowatt; Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Music Copying: Kaye-Houston Music
Creative Consultant: John Waters; Fight direction by Rick Sordelet; Casting: Telsey + Company; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; General Press Representative: Richard Kornberg and Don Summa; Marketing: HHC Marketing; Dance Captain: Spencer Liff; Fight Captain: Brendan King
Harriet Harris
Mrs. Vernon-Williams
James Snyder
Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker
Chester Gregory II
Christopher J. Hanke
Carly Jibson
Pepper Walker
Alli Mauzey
Tory Ross
Replaced Courtney Balan during previews
Elizabeth Stanley
Cameron Adams
Ashley Amber
Nick Blaemire
Michael Buchanan
Radio DJ
Eric L. Christian
Colin Cunliffe
Stacey Todd Holt
Father Officer O'Brien
Laura Jordan
Lacey Kohl
Marty Lawson
Spencer Liff
Mayumi Miguel
Richard Poe
Judge Stone
Eric Sciotto
Ryan Silverman
Replaced Andrew C. Call during previews
Skippy Wagstaff
Peter Matthew Smith
Allison Spratt
Charlie Sutton
Swings: Lisa Gajda, Michael D. Jablonski, Brendan King and Courtney Laine Mazza
Understudies: Cameron Adams (Allison), Ashley Amber (Wanda), Michael Buchanan (Dupree), Eric L. Christian (Dupree), Colin Cunliffe (Baldwin), Lisa Gajda (Mona, Pepper Walker), Stacey Todd Holt (Judge Stone), Laura Jordan (Mrs. Vernon-Williams), Courtney Laine Mazza (Lenora, Wanda), Tory Ross (Mrs. Vernon-Williams, Pepper Walker), Eric Sciotto (Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker), Ryan Silverman (Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker), Peter Matthew Smith (Baldwin, Judge Stone) and Allison Spratt (Allison, Lenora)
Tony Award®
2008 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by Adam Epstein, Allan S. Gordon, Élan V. McAllister, Brian Grazer, James P. MacGilvray, Universal Pictures, Anne Caruso, Adam S. Gordon, Latitude Link and Pelican Group; Produced in association with Philip Morgaman and Andrew Farber/Richard Mishaan
2008 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan
2008 Best Original Score Written for the Theatre [nominee]
Music by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum
2008 Best Choreography [nominee]
Rob Ashford
Drama Desk Award
winner 2008 Outstanding Choreography [winner]
Rob Ashford
Theatre World
winner 2008 Award [recipient]
Alli Mauzey
music by Adam Schlesinger; lyrics by David Javerbaum
ACT 1 Sung By
The Anti-Polio Picnic Mrs. Vernon-Williams, Allison, Baldwin and Ensemble
Watch Your Ass Pepper Walker, Wanda, Mona, Dupree, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Ensemble
I'm Infected Allison, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Ensemble
Squeaky Clean Baldwin and The Whiffles
Nobody Gets Me Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Pepper Walker, Wanda, Mona and Ensemble
Nobody Gets Me (Reprise) Allison
Jukebox Jamboree Dupree
A Whole Lot Worse Pepper Walker, Wanda and Mona
Screw Loose Lenora
Baby Baby Baby Baby Baby (Baby Baby) Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Allison and Ensemble
Girl, Can I Kiss You...? Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Allison and Ensemble
I'm Infected (Reprise) Allison and Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker
You Can't Beat the System Full Company
ACT 2 Sung By
Misery, Agony, Helplessness, Hopelessness, Heartache and Woe Allison, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Dupree, Pepper Walker, Wanda, Mona, Mrs. Vernon-Williams and Ensemble
All in My Head Baldwin, Lenora and Ensemble
Jailyard Jubilee Dupree and Ensemble
A Little Upset Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Dupree, Allison and Ensemble
I Did Something Wrong...Once Mrs. Vernon-Williams
Thanks for the Nifty Country! Baldwin and The Whiffles
This Amazing Offer Baldwin and The Whiffles
Do That Again Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Allison
Nothing Bad's Ever Gonna Happen Again Full Company