facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Majority of One   

Shubert Theatre, (2/16/1959 - 10/17/1959)
Ethel Barrymore Theatre, (10/19/1959 - 6/25/1960)
First Preview: Feb 12, 1959 Total Previews: 3
Opening Date: Feb 16, 1959    
Closing Date: Jun 25, 1960 Total Performances: 556

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A comedy in three acts
Setting: Brooklyn; Tokyo; the S. S. Leonard Wood, during a voyage to Japan.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by The Theatre Guild and Dore Schary; Associate Producer: Philip Langner
Written by Leonard Spigelgass
Directed by Dore Schary
Costume Design by Motley; Lighting Design by Donald Oenslager; Scenic Design by Donald Oenslager; Assistant to Mr. Oenslager: Klaus Holm
General Manager: Peter Davis; Company Manager: Marshall Young; Associate Business Manager: Sara Greenspan
Production Stage Manager: Elliot Martin; Stage Manager: David Ford; Assistant Stage Mgr: Arsenio Trinidad
General Press Representative: Nat Dorfman; Press Representative: Irvin Dorfman, Jane Randall and Anne Sloper; Assistant to Mr. Schary: Jean Barrere
Gertrude Berg
Mrs. Jacoby
Cedric Hardwicke
Koichi Asano
Yasuko Adachi
Servant Girl
Ina Balin
Alice Black
Selma Halpern
Lady Passenger
Barnard Hughes
Captain Norcross
Kanna Ishii
Ayako Asano
Tsuruko Kobayashi
Marc Marno
Mae Questel
Mrs. Rubin
Sahomi Tachibana
Michael Tolan
Jerome Black
Arsenio Trinidad
House Boy
Understudies: David Ford (Captain Norcross, Jerome Black), Berta Gersten (Mrs. Jacoby), Selma Halpern (Alice Black, Mrs. Rubin), Barnard Hughes (Koichi Asano), Sahomi Tachibana (Ayako Asano) and Arsenio Trinidad (Eddie)
Tony Award®
1959 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Cedric Hardwicke
winner 1959 Best Actress in a Play [winner]
Gertrude Berg
winner 1959 Best Scenic Design [winner]
Donald Oenslager
1959 Best Direction [nominee]
Dore Schary
Theatre World
winner 1959 Award [recipient]
Ina Balin