facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Helen Hayes Theatre, (11/14/1979 - 5/18/1980)
First Preview: Nov 07, 1979 Total Previews: 6
Opening Date: Nov 14, 1979    
Closing Date: May 18, 1980 Total Performances: 214

Category: Play, Play with music, Original, Broadway

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Operated by Lester Osterman
Produced by Arthur Whitelaw and Miriam Bienstock; Produced in association with Lita Starr
Originally produced by The Chelsea Theater Center (Robert Kalfin: Artistic Director; Michael David: Executive Director)
Written by Mark Rozovsky; Adapted from "Kholstomer: The Story of a Horse" by Leo Tolstoy; English Stage Version by Robert Kalfin and Steve Brown; Based on a Translation by Tamara Bering Sunguroff; Music by Mark Rozovsky and S. Vetkin; Original Russian lyrics by Uri Riashentsev; Adaptor, composer of new additional music: Norman L. Berman; Vocal and instrumental arrangements: Norman L. Berman; Musical Director: Norman L. Berman; New English lyrics by Steve Brown
Directed by Robert Kalfin and Lynne Gannaway
Scenic Design by Wolfgang Roth; Costume Design by Andrew B. Marlay; Lighting Design by Robby Monk; Sound Design by Gary Harris
General Manager: Arthur Whitelaw; Company Manager: Sam Pagliaro
Production Stage Manager: Zoya Wyeth; Technical Director: Sander Gossard; Stage Manager: Laurie F. Stone and Vincent A. Feraudo
Orchestra Manager: John Monaco; Conducted by Norman L. Berman
Dance Captain: Benjamin Hendrickson; General Press Representative: Shirley Herz and Jan Greenberg; Press Representative: Gail Bell; Press Assistant: Sam Rudy; Casting: Michael Fender; Advertising: Ash / LeDonne; Photographer: Peter Cunningham
Gerald Hiken
Pamela Burrell
Viazapurikha / Mathieu / Marie
Gordon Gould
Prince Serpuhofsky
Benjamin Hendrickson
Count Bobrinsky / Darling / The Lieutenant
Steven Blane
Katherine-Mary Brown
John Brownlee
Roger De Koven
Vaska / Mr. Willingstone
Nina Dova
Vincent A. Feraudo
Bet Taker
Igors Gavon
Feofan / Fritz
Tad Ingram
Nancy Kawalek
Jeannine Khoutieff
Skip Lawing
Ronnie Newman
General / Announcer
Karen Trott
Vicki Van Grack
Charles Walker
Understudies: Katherine-Mary Brown (Viazapurikha / Mathieu / Marie), John Brownlee (Groom), Tad Ingram (General / Announcer, Prince Serpuhofsky, Strider, Vaska / Mr. Willingstone), Skip Lawing (Count Bobrinsky / Darling / The Lieutenant) and Charles Walker (Feofan / Fritz)
Tony Award®
1980 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Gerald Hiken
1980 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Pamela Burrell
Drama Desk Award
1980 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee]
Gerald Hiken
1980 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee]
Directed by Robert Kalfin and Lynne Gannaway
1980 Outstanding Lyrics [nominee]
New English lyrics by Steve Brown
winner 1980 Outstanding Sound Design [winner]
Musical Director: Norman L. Berman
winner 1980 Outstanding Music in a Play [winner]
Adaptor, composer of new additional music: Norman L. Berman