facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Hadrian VII   

Helen Hayes Theatre, (1/08/1969 - 11/15/1969)
First Preview: Total Previews: 10
Opening Date: Jan 08, 1969    
Closing Date: Nov 15, 1969 Total Performances: 359

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: London and Rome. The early 20th Century.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Lester Osterman and Richard Horner
Produced by Lester Osterman Productions (Lester Osterman, Richard Horner, Lawrence Kasha), Bill Freedman and Charles Kasher
Written by Peter Luke; Based on "Hadrian the Seventh" and other works by Fr. Rolfe
Directed by Peter Dews
Scenic Design by Robert Fletcher; Costume Design by Robert Fletcher; Lighting Design by Lloyd Burlingame
General Manager: Richard Horner; Company Manager: Leonard Soloway
Production Stage Manager: Ben Janney; Stage Manager: Wayne Carson; Assistant Stage Mgr: Joe Hanrahan
General Press Representative: Harvey B. Sabinson and Lee Solters; Press Representative: David Powers; Vocal Coach: Robert Shattuck; Advertising: Ingram Ash and Blaine-Thompson
Alec McCowen
Fr. William Rolfe
(Jan 08, 1969 - Jun 29, 1969)
Willam A. Bush
B.J. DeSimone
William Engel
Papal Guard
Gillie Fenwick
Dr. Courtleigh
Cardinal-Archbishop of Pimlico
Neil Fitzgerald
Rector of St. Andrew's College
Truman Gaige
Cardinal Berstein
Tom Gorman
John Hallow
Papal Chamberlain
Christopher Hewett
Father St. Albans
Prepositor-General of the Jesuits
Robert Hewitt
Carl Jessop
Peter Jobin
George Arthur Rose
John Kramer
Arthur Marlowe
Joseph Neal
William Needles
Dr. Talacryn
Bishop of Caerleon
Richard Nicholls
The Cardinal-Archdeacon
Gerard Parkes
Jeremiah Sant, F.R.S.
Marie Paxton
Alan Rachins
Robert Shattuck
Michael Stein
Papal Guard
Sydney Sturgess
Mrs. Crowe
Theodore Tenley
Louis Zorich
Cardinal Ragna
Standby: Roderick Cook (Fr. William Rolfe) and Sylvia O'Brien (Agnes, Mrs. Crowe)
Understudies: Willam A. Bush (Cardinal Berstein), Tom Gorman (Dr. Courtleigh), John Hallow (Dr. Talacryn, Father St. Albans), Robert Hewitt (Jeremiah Sant, F.R.S.), Carl Jessop (George Arthur Rose), Arthur Marlowe (Rector of St. Andrew's College), Michael Stein (Cardinal Ragna) and Theodore Tenley (The Cardinal-Archdeacon)
Tony Award®
1969 Best Play [nominee]
Written by Peter Luke; Produced by Lester Osterman Productions (Lester Osterman, Richard Horner, Lawrence Kasha), Bill Freedman and Charles Kasher
1969 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Alec McCowen
1969 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Louis Zorich
1969 Best Costume Design [nominee]
Robert Fletcher
winner 1969 Best Direction of a Play [winner]
Peter Dews
Drama Desk Award
winner 1969 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Alec McCowen