facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Borstal Boy   

Lyceum Theatre, (3/31/1970 - 8/01/1970)
First Preview: Total Previews: 8
Opening Date: Mar 31, 1970    
Closing Date: Aug 01, 1970 Total Performances: 143

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Liverpool; Dublin; aboard a ship in Hollesley Bay. 1939.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by Michael McAloney and Burton C. Kaiser; Produced in association with The Abbey Theatre of Dublin; Associate Producer: Joyce Sloane
Based on a book by Brendan Behan; Adapted for the stage by Frank McMahon
Directed by Tomas MacAnna
Production Design by Tomas MacAnna; Scenic Supervision: Neil Peter Jampolis; Lighting Design by Neil Peter Jampolis; Costume Supervision: Robert Fletcher; Prod. Assistant to Mr. Jamopolis: Judith Binus
General Manager: Richard Horner; Company Manager: Al Jones
Production Stage Manager: William Ross; Stage Manager: Bernard Pollock and William G. Johnson
General Press Representative: Lee Solters and Harvey B. Sabinson; Press Representative: Stanley F. Kaminsky; Assistant to the Producer: Roslyn Dickens; Advertising: Ingram Ash and Blaine-Thompson; Original portrait of Brendan Behan used in the production and all cover and poster art by LeRoy Neiman
Frank Grimes
Young Behan
Bruce Heighley
Charlie Millwall
Niall Toibin
Brendan Behan
Francis Bethencourt
Mr. Whitbread
First Warder
Mairin D. O'Sullivan
Mrs. Gildea
Norman Allen
Prisoner at Walton
a Borstal Boy
Don Billett
I.R.A. Man
Prisoner at Walton
a Borstal Boy
Amy Burk
Warder's Wife
Michael Cahill
I.R.A. Man
a Borstal Boy
George Connolly
Ken Jones
a Borstal Boy
Phyllis Craig
Liverpool landlady
Marilyn Crawley
Roslyn Dickens
Brendan Fay
I.R.A. Man
Library Warder
Voice of the Judge
Emigration Official
Liam Gannon
I.R.A. Man
Prisoner at Walton
a Borstal Boy
Peter Hock
Terry Lomax
Prisoner at Walton
a Borstal Boy
John MacKay
The Inspector
Prison Governor
Patricia McAneny
Kenneth McMillan
Prisoner at Walton
Drout Miller
Prisoner at Walton
a Borstal Boy
Don Perkins
Italian Priest
Arthur Roberts
Mr. Holmes
Second Warder
Welsh Warder
Dean Santoro
Detective Vereker
a Borstal Boy
Stephen Scott
Prison Chaplain
Governor of Borstal
Tom Signorelli
Joseph Warren
The Sergeant
Warder O'Shea
James Woods
Prisoner at Walton
Tom Meadows
a Borstal Boy
Richard Yanko
Richard Yesso
Understudies: Norman Allen (Charlie Millwall), Amy Burk (Girl in court, Sheila), George Connolly (Young Behan), Marilyn Crawley (Liverpool landlady, Mrs. Gildea), Roslyn Dickens (Warder's Wife), Brendan Fay (Brendan Behan, Cook), Peter Hock (Italian Priest, Jock, Joe, Ken Jones), John MacKay (Emigration Official, Governor of Borstal, Warder O'Shea), Kenneth McMillan (Library Warder, Prison Chaplain), Drout Miller (I.R.A. Man), Don Perkins (Prison Governor, Tubby), Dean Santoro (Dale, Voice of the Judge), Stephen Scott (The Inspector, The Sergeant), Tom Signorelli (Brownie, Harty, James, Shaggy), James Woods (Callan), Richard Yanko (Detective Vereker, Mr. Holmes, Rivers, Welsh Warder) and Richard Yesso (Chewlips, Cragg, Tom Meadows)
Tony Award®
winner 1970 Best Play [winner]
Adapted for the stage by Frank McMahon; Produced by Michael McAloney and Burton C. Kaiser
1970 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Frank Grimes
1970 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Tomas MacAnna
Drama Desk Award
winner 1970 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Frank Grimes; Niall Toibin