facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

Ain't Supposed to Die a Natural Death    Tunes From Blackness

Ethel Barrymore Theatre, (10/20/1971 - 11/13/1971)
Ambassador Theatre, (11/17/1971 - 7/30/1972)
First Preview: Oct 08, 1971 Total Previews: 10
Opening Date: Oct 20, 1971    
Closing Date: Jul 30, 1972 Total Performances: 581

Category: Musical, Original, Broadway
Setting: Here. Now.

Production Staff
Produced by Eugene V. Wolsk, Charles Blackwell, Emanuel Azenberg and Robert Malina; Associate Producer: Howard Friedman
Music by Melvin Van Peebles; Lyrics by Melvin Van Peebles; Book by Melvin Van Peebles; Musical direction and supervision: Harold Wheeler
Directed by Gilbert Moses
Scenic Design by Kert F. Lundell; Costume Design by Bernard Johnson; Lighting Design by Martin Aronstein; Sound Design by Jack Shearing
Production Stage Manager: Nate Barnett; Stage Manager: Helaine Head
Musician: Harold Wheeler, Arthur Jenkins, Richard Pratt, Bill Salter, Lloyd Davis, Charles Sullivan and Robert Corten
Press Representative: Merle Debuskey and Faith Greer
Barbara Alston
Toney Brealond
Marilyn Coleman
Bill Duke
Gloria Edwards
Joe Fields
Clebert Ford
Arthur French
Minnie Gentry
Carl Gordon
Albert Hall
Jimmy Hayeson
Sati Jamal
Lauren Jones
Garrett Morris
Madge Wells
Ralph Wilcox
Dick Anthony Williams
Beatrice Winde
Standby: Phylicia Ayers-Allen (Performer), Ted Lange (Performer), Joan Pryor (Performer) and Roger Robinson (Performer)
Tony Award®
1972 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by Eugene V. Wolsk, Charles Blackwell, Emanuel Azenberg and Robert Malina
1972 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by Melvin Van Peebles
1972 Best Original Score [nominee]
Music by Melvin Van Peebles; Lyrics by Melvin Van Peebles
1972 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Beatrice Winde
1972 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Kert F. Lundell
1972 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Martin Aronstein
1972 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee]
Gilbert Moses
Drama Desk Award
winner 1972 Outstanding Set Design [winner]
Scenic Design by Kert F. Lundell
winner 1972 Most Promising Book [winner]
Book by Melvin Van Peebles
winner 1972 Most Promising Director [winner]
Directed by Gilbert Moses
Theatre World
winner 1972 Award [recipient]
Beatrice Winde
Just Don't Make No Sense
Coolest Place in Town
You Can Get Up Before Noon Without Being a Square
Mirror Mirror on the Wall
Come Raising Your Leg on Me
You Gotta Be Holdin Out Five Dollars on Me
Sera Sera Jim
Catch That on the Corner
The Dozens
Funky Girl on Motherless Broadway
Tenth and Greenwich
Heh Heh (Chuckle) Good Mornin' Sunshine
You Ain't No Astronaut
Three Boxes of Longs Please
Lily Done the Zampoughi Every Time I Pulled Her Coattail
I Got the Blood
Salamaggi's Birthday
Come on Feet Do Your Thing
Put a Curse on You