facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Execution of Justice   

Virginia Theatre, (3/13/1986 - 3/22/1986)
First Preview: Mar 05, 1986 Total Previews: 8
Opening Date: Mar 13, 1986    
Closing Date: Mar 22, 1986 Total Performances: 12

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: 1978 to the present. San Francisco.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (under the direction of Richard G. Wolff, President)
Produced by Lester Osterman, Marjorie Osterman and Mortimer Caplin; Produced in association with Norton & Stark, Inc.
Professional premiere at the Actors Theatre of Louisville
Written by Emily Mann
Directed by Emily Mann; Assistant Director: Molly Fowler
Scenic Design by Ming Cho Lee; Costume Design by Jennifer von Mayrhauser; Lighting Design by Pat Collins; Sound Design by Tom Morse
General Manager: Allan Francis
Production Stage Manager: Frank Marino; Stage Manager: Fredric Hanson; Assistant Stage Mgr: Elise Warner; Technical Supervisor: Arthur Siccardi
Casting: Johnson-Liff Associates; General Press Representative: Hunt / Pucci Associates; Photographer: Gerry Goodstein; Dramaturg: Mark Bly; Advertising: The Golden Group
Film sequences excerpted from "The Times of Harvey Milk" by Robert Epstein and Richard Schmiechen; Originally commissioned by the Eureka Theatre Company
Gerry Bamman
Thomas F. Norman
Prosecuting Attorney
Lisabeth Bartlett
Young Mother
Court Clerk
Denise Apcar
Aide To White
Jeremy O. Caplin
Riot Policeman
Josh Clark
Prospective Juror
Riot Policeman
Jon De Vries
Frank Falzon
Inspector, Homicide
Dr. Delman
Riot Policeman
Donal Donnelly
Harry Britt
City Supervisor; Milk's Successor
Coroner Stephens
Dr. Blinder
Peter Friedman
Douglas Schmidt
Defense Attorney
Nicholas Hormann
Joseph Freitas
Carl Henry Carlson
Aide To Harvey Milk
Richard Howard
Action Cameraman
Suzy Hunt
Prospective Juror
Cyr Copertini
Secretary To The Mayor
Earle Hyman
Rudy Nothenberg
Deputy Mayor, Moscone's Friend
Dr. Jones
Nicholas Kepros
The Court
Marcia Jean Kurtz
Barbara Taylor
Dr. Solomon
Carol Ruth Silver
City Supervisor
Mary McDonnell
Mary Ann White
Christopher McHale
Jim Denman
White's Jailer
Isabell Monk
Gwenn Craig
Vice President of Harvey Milk Democratic Club
Officer Byrne
Department of Records
Adam Redfield
Milk's Friend
Gary Reineke
Juror #3/Foreman
Fire Chief
Dr. Lunde
Dr. Levy
Richard Riehle
William Melia
Civil Engineer
Lee Dolson
City Supervisor
Riot Policeman
Freda Foh Shen
Joanna Lu
TV Reporter
Wesley Snipes
Sister Boom Boom
Political Activist
Richard Pabich
Assistant To Harvey Milk
John Spencer
Dan White
Stanley Tucci
Edward Erdelatz
Police Officer
Riot Policeman
Understudies: Jeremy O. Caplin (Jim Denman, Juror #2), Josh Clark (Douglas Schmidt, Milk's Friend, Richard Pabich, Sister Boom Boom), Suzy Hunt (Carol Ruth Silver, Dr. Solomon), Christopher McHale (Bailiff, Dan White, Frank Falzon, Frediani, Jim Denman, Riot Policeman), Richard Poe (Coroner Stephens, Dr. Blinder, Dr. Jones, Dr. Levy, Dr. Lunde, Harry Britt, Juror #3/Foreman, Lee Dolson, Riot Policeman, Rudy Nothenberg, Sherratt, The Court, William Melia), Gary Reineke (Carl Henry Carlson, Joseph Freitas, Mourner), Richard Riehle (Cop, Edward Erdelatz), Carlotta Schoch (Cyr Copertini, Denise Apcar, Gwenn Craig, Joanna Lu, Juror #1, Mary Ann White, Officer Byrne, Young Mother), Wesley Snipes (Sullivan) and Elise Warner (Barbara Taylor)
Drama Desk Award
1986 Outstanding New Play [nominee]
Produced by Lester Osterman, Marjorie Osterman and Mortimer Caplin; Produced in association with Norton & Stark, Inc.; Written by Emily Mann
winner 1986 Outstanding Lighting Design [winner]
Pat Collins
1986 Outstanding Sound Design/Music in a Play [nominee]
Sound Design by Tom Morse
1986 Outstanding Set Design [nominee]
Scenic Design by Ming Cho Lee