IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

In the Next Room   
or The Vibrator Play

Lyceum Theatre , (11/19/2009 - 1/10/2010)
First Preview:Oct 22, 2009 Total Previews:31
Opening Date:Nov 19, 2009   
Closing Date:Jan 10, 2010 Total Performances:60

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: A properous spa town outside of New York City. The dawn of the age of electricity, and after the Civil War.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Philip J. Smith: Chairman; Robert E. Wankel: President)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Originally commissioned and produced by Berkeley Repertory Theatre
Written by Sarah Ruhl; Original Music by Jonathan Bell
Directed by Les Waters; Assistant Director: Sarah Rasmussen
Scenic Design by Annie Smart; Costume Design by David Zinn; Lighting Design by Russell H. Champa; Sound Design by Bray Poor; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley; Assistant Scenic Design: Andrew Kaufman; Assistant Costume Design: Jacob A. Climer; Assistant Lighting Design: Justin Partier; Assistant Sound Design: Charles Coes
General Manager: Adam Siegel; Company Manager: Matthew Markoff; Associate Gen. Mgr: Jessica Niebanck; Assistant Co. Mgr: Daniel Hoyos
Technical Supervisor: William Nagle and Patrick Merryman; Production Stage Manager: Roy Harris; Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin; Assistant Stage Mgr: Denise Yaney
LCT Director of Casting: Daniel Swee; General Press Representative: Philip Rinaldi; LCT Director of Development: Hattie K. Jutagir; LCT Director of Marketing: Linda Mason Ross; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Photographer: Joan Marcus; Videographer: Fresh Produce Productions
Laura Benanti Mrs. Givings
Quincy Tyler Bernstine Elizabeth
Michael Cerveris Dr. Givings
Maria Dizzia Mrs. Daldry
Thomas Jay Ryan Mr. Daldry
Wendy Rich Stetson Annie
Chandler Williams Leo Irving
Understudies: Nathan Darrow (Dr. Givings, Leo Irving), Emily Dorsch (Annie, Mrs. Daldry), Donnetta Lavinia Grays (Elizabeth), Paul Niebanck (Dr. Givings, Mr. Daldry) and Erica Sullivan (Annie, Mrs. Givings)
Tony Award®
 2010 Best Play [nominee]
Written by Sarah Ruhl; Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
 2010 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Maria Dizzia
 2010 Best Costume Design of a Play [nominee]
Costume Design by David Zinn
Drama Desk Award
 2010 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee]
David Zinn
Pulitzer Prize
 2010 for Drama [nominee]
Written by Sarah Ruhl