M. Butterfly | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

M. Butterfly   

Eugene O'Neill Theatre, (3/20/1988 - 1/27/1990)
First Preview: Mar 13, 1988 Total Previews: 9
Opening Date: Mar 20, 1988    
Closing Date: Jan 27, 1990 Total Performances: 777

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: A Paris prison, 1988, and, in recall the years 1960-1986 in Beijing and Paris.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (James H. Binger: Chairman; Rocco Landesman: President)
Produced by Stuart Ostrow and David Geffen
Written by David Henry Hwang; Incidental music by Giacomo Puccini and Lucia Hwong; Live music arranged by Jason Hwang and Yukio Tsuji; Musical Director: Lucia Hwong
Directed by John Dexter
Scenic Design by Eiko Ishioka; Costume Design by Eiko Ishioka; Lighting Design by Andy Phillips; Hair Design by Phyllis Della; Sound Design by Peter J. Fitzgerald; Associate Scenic Design: Duke Durfee; Associate Costume Design: John Dunn; Make-Up Design by Joe Campayno; Assistant to Phillips: Brian Nason; Assistant to Ms. Ishioka: Susan O'Donnell
General Manager: Joseph Harris Associates, Inc.
Production Stage Manager: Bob Borod; Stage Manager: Barry Kearsley; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris Associates; Assistant Stage Mgr: Glen Gardali
Lute: Lucia Hwong; Percussion, Shakuhachi and Guitar: Yukio Tsuji; Violin and Percussion: Jason Hwang; Musical Coordinator: John Miller
Casting: Meg Simon and Fran Kumin; Peking Opera Consultant: Jamie H. J. Guan and Michele Ehlers; General Press Representative: Springer Associates, Inc.; Photographer: Joan Marcus; Advertising: Grey Entertainment & Media; Assistant to Mr. Dexter: Miguel Braganza, Jr.; Production Associate: June Reimer
John LithgowRene Gallimard
John GetzMarc
Man #2
Consul Sharpless
Rose GregorioHelga
George N. MartinM. Toulon
Man #1
B.D. WongSong Liling
Lori Tan ChinnComrade Chin
Shu Fang
Lindsay FrostRenee
Woman at Party
Girl in Magazine
Jamie H. J. GuanKurogo
Alec MapaKurogo
Chris OdoKurogo
Understudies: Kathleen Chalfant (Helga), Elizabeth Hess (Girl in Magazine, Renee, Woman at Party), Tom Klunis (M. Toulon), Kathryn Layng (Renee), Alec Mapa (Comrade Chin, Shu Fang, Song Liling, Suzuki) and Richard Poe (Marc, Rene Gallimard)
Pulitzer Prize
 1989 for Drama [nominee] 
 Written by David Henry Hwang
Tony Award®
winner 1988 Best Play [winner] 
 Written by David Henry Hwang ;  Produced by Stuart Ostrow and David Geffen
 1988 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  John Lithgow
winner 1988 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner] 
  B.D. Wong
 1988 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Eiko Ishioka
 1988 Best Costume Design [nominee] 
  Eiko Ishioka
 1988 Best Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Andy Phillips
winner 1988 Best Direction of a Play [winner] 
  John Dexter
Drama Desk Award
winner 1988 Outstanding New Play [winner] 
 Produced by Stuart Ostrow and David Geffen ;  Written by David Henry Hwang
 1988 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  John Lithgow
winner 1988 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [winner] 
  B.D. Wong
winner 1988 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner] 
 Directed by John Dexter
 1988 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee] 
  Eiko Ishioka
 1988 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Eiko Ishioka
Theatre World
winner 1988 Award [recipient] 
  B.D. Wong