IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Virginia Theatre , (12/23/1982 - 1/09/1983)
First Preview:Dec 08, 1982 Total Previews:18
Opening Date:Dec 23, 1982   
Closing Date:Jan 09, 1983 Total Performances:21

Category: Play, Fantasy, Play with music, Revival, Broadway
Description: A play in two parts
Setting: Wonderland

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (under the direction of Richard G. Wolff, President)
Produced by Sabra Jones and Anthony D. Marshall; Produced in association with WNET 13
Adapted for the stage by Eva Le Gallienne and Florida Friebus; From the novel "Alice in Wonderland" by Lewis Carroll; Incidental music by Richard Addinsell
Conceived by Eva Le Gallienne; Directed by Eva Le Gallienne; Co - Director: John Strasberg
Scenic Design by John Lee Beatty; Costume Design by Patricia Zipprodt; Lighting Design by Jennifer Tipton; Puppet Design by The Puppet People; Sound Design by Jack Mann; Make-Up Design by Fred Patton
General Manager: McCann & Nugent Productions, Inc.; Company Manager: Steven Suskin
Production Stage Manager: Alan Hall; Stage Manager: Ruth E. Rinklin
Music adapted by Jonathan Tunick; Musical Supervisor: Jonathan Tunick; Conducted by Les Scott; Music Contractor: Seymour "Red" Press
Special Effects by Chic Silber
Movement directed by Bambi Linn; Original "Alice in Wonderland" illustrations by John Tenniel; Casting: Johnson-Liff Associates; General Press Representative: Solters / Roskin / Friedman, Inc.; Production Coordinator: Mary Nealon; Special Casting Consultant: Shirley Rich; Animal Trainer: William Berloni Theatrical Animals, Inc.; Photographer: Martha Swope and Associates; Advertising: Serino, Coyne & Nappi; Logo Design by Bob Gill
This production is dedicated to Audrey Wood
Rebecca Armen Eaglet
Two of Hearts
Robert Ott Boyle Five of Spades
Kate Burton Alice
Josh Clark March Hare
Front of Horse
Curt Dawson White Rabbit
White Knight
MacIntyre Dixon Mad Hatter
Geoff Garland Two of Spades
Skip Harris Three of Clubs
John Heffernan Caterpillar
Ten of Hearts
Edward Hibbert Gryphon
Old Frog
Nancy Killmer Singer
Eight of Hearts
Eva Le Gallienne White Queen
Nicholas Martin Duck
Train Guard
Steve Massa Seven of Spades
Voice of Leg of Mutton
Mary Stuart Masterson Small White Rabbit
Four of Hearts
John Miglietta Lory
Seven of Hearts
Marti Morris Six of Hearts
Cliff Rakerd Seven of Clubs
Back of Horse
Brian Reddy Queen of Hearts
John Remme Mouse
Three of Hearts
Claude-Albert Saucier Frog Footman
Five of Hearts
John Seidman Knave of Hearts
Geddeth Smith Fish Footman
Voice of Cheshire Cat
Ace of Hearts
Man in White Paper
Richard Sterne Cook
Nine of Hearts
James Valentine Dodo
Mock Turtle
Joan White White Queen Alternate
Mary Louise Wilson Red Queen
Richard Woods King of Hearts
Voice of Humpty Dumpty
Edward Zang Duchess
Understudies: Rebecca Armen (Red Queen), Robert Ott Boyle (Mad Hatter), MacIntyre Dixon (Mouse, Three of Hearts, Tweedledee), Skip Harris (Back of Horse, Five of Spades, Seven of Clubs, Tweedledum, Two of Spades), Nancy Killmer (Cook, Eaglet, Nine of Hearts, Two of Hearts), Nicholas Martin (King of Hearts, Voice of Humpty Dumpty), Steve Massa (Dormouse, Duck, Train Guard), Mary Stuart Masterson (Alice), John Miglietta (Five of Hearts, Frog Footman, Goat, Knave of Hearts), Marti Morris (Four of Hearts, Small White Rabbit), Cliff Rakerd (Ace of Hearts, Fish Footman, Front of Horse, Man in White Paper, March Hare, Queen of Hearts, Voice of Cheshire Cat), John Remme (Voice of Leg of Mutton), Claude-Albert Saucier (Duchess), John Seidman (Five of Spades, Tweedledum), Geddeth Smith (Caterpillar, Sheep, Ten of Hearts), Richard Sterne (Dodo, King of Hearts, Lory, Mock Turtle, Seven of Hearts, Voice of Humpty Dumpty) and Joan White (White Queen)
Theatre World
nominee 1983 Award [recipient]
Kate Burton
Tony Award®
 1983 Best Costume Design [nominee]
Patricia Zipprodt
Drama Desk Award
 1983 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee]
Patricia Zipprodt