IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Brooks Atkinson Theatre , (12/12/1982 - 2/05/1983)
First Preview:Dec 03, 1982 Total Previews:3
Opening Date:Dec 12, 1982   
Closing Date:Feb 05, 1983 Total Performances:65

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A Turkish bath, London. The late 1970s.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization
Produced by Ronald S. Lee, Robert S. Fishko, Gene Wolsk, Sheila Tronn Cooper and Carol Cogan; Produced by arrangement with Eddie Kulukundis, John Wallbank and Christopher Malcolm
First presented at The Theatre Royal, Stratford East; USA premiere at the The Hartman Theatre (Edwin Sherin, Producing Artistic Director; Harris Goldman, Executive Director)
Written by Nell Dunn; Incidental music by Richard Hartley
Directed by Roger Smith
Scenic Design by Marjorie Bradley Kellogg; Costume Design by Jennifer von Mayrhauser; Lighting Design by Pat Collins; Sound Design by David Rapkin
General Manager: Robert S. Fishko; Company Manager: Susan Bell
Production Stage Manager: Steve Zweigbaum; Stage Manager: Scott Glenn
General Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz; Press Representative: Patricia Krawitz; Casting: Mary Colquhoun; Advertising: Ash / LeDonne; Dialect Coach: Elizabeth Smith; Photographer: Martha Swope; Miss Ivey's mink coat provided by Goldin-Feldman; Production Associate: Vivian Dreifuss
Pauline Flanagan Violet
Judith Ivey Josie
John Messenger
Broadway debut
Lisa Jane Persky
Broadway debut
Polly Rowles Mrs. Meadow
Linda Thorson
Broadway debut
Margaret Whitton Jane
Theatre World
nominee 1983 Award [recipient]
Linda Thorson
Tony Award®
winner 1983 Best Featured Actress in a Play [winner]
Judith Ivey
Drama Desk Award
winner 1983 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [winner]
Judith Ivey
 1983 Outstanding Set Design [nominee]
Scenic Design by Marjorie Bradley Kellogg