Present Laughter | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Present Laughter   

Circle in the Square Theatre, (7/15/1982 - 1/02/1983)
First Preview: Jun 22, 1982 Total Previews: 32
Opening Date: Jul 15, 1982    
Closing Date: Jan 02, 1983 Total Performances: 175

Category: Play, Comedy, Revival, Broadway
Description: A comedy in three acts and four scenes
Setting: Garry Essendine's studio in London. Sometime before WW II.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Circle in the Square (under the direction of Theodore Mann and Paul Libin)
Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Managing Director)
Written by Noël Coward
Directed by George C. Scott
Scenic Design by Marjorie Bradley Kellogg; Costume Design by Ann Roth; Lighting Design by Richard Nelson; Hair Design by Lyn Quiyou
Company Manager: William Conn
Production Stage Manager: Michael Ritchie; Stage Manager: Duncan Scott
Entr'acte music performed on the piano by Don Josephson
Circle in the Square Public Relations Director: Merle Debuskey; Circle in the Square Press Representative: David Roggensack; Casting: Lynn Kressel
George C. ScottGarry Essendine
Kate BurtonDaphne Stillington
Edward ConeryMorris Dixon
Georgine HallLady Saltburn
Bette HenritzeMiss Erikson
Elizabeth HubbardLiz Essendine
Dana IveyMonica Reed
Christine LahtiJoanna Lyppiatt
Nathan Lane
Broadway debut
Roland Maule
Jim PiddockFred
Richard WoodsHenry Lyppiatt
Standby: Mart Hulswit (Garry Essendine)
Understudies: Jerry Mettner (Fred, Roland Maule), Linda Noble (Daphne Stillington, Miss Erikson) and Elizabeth Perry (Joanna Lyppiatt, Lady Saltburn, Liz Essendine, Monica Reed)
Theatre World
winner 1983 Award [recipient] 
  Kate Burton
Drama Desk Award
 1983 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Nathan Lane
 1983 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Dana Ivey
 1983 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by George C. Scott
 1983 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Marjorie Bradley Kellogg
 1983 Outstanding Revival [nominee] 
 Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Managing Director)