IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Ambassador Theatre , (10/24/1957 - 2/22/1958)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Oct 24, 1957   
Closing Date:Feb 22, 1958 Total Performances:140

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Description: A drama in two acts and twenty scenes
Setting: Chicago, 1924.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by Michael Myerberg; Produced in association with Len S. Gruenberg
Dramatization (Producer's Version) by: Meyer Levin; Original Music by Cy Coleman; Musical Director: Cy Coleman
Directed by Alex Segal
Scenic Design by Peter Larkin; Costume Design by John Boxer; Lighting Design by Charles Elson
General Manager: Ben Boyar
Production Stage Manager: John Paul; Stage Manager: Joseph Kapfer
Publicity Director: Samuel J. Friedman; Press: Robert Ullman and Shirley Herz
Roddy McDowall Artie Straus
Dean Stockwell Judd Steiner (1924)
Howard Da Silva Horn
The Prosecuting Attorney
Ben Astar Charles Kessler
Dr. Allman
Ina Balin Ruth Goldenberg
Helen Baron Sandra Mannheimer
Julian Barry Willie Weiss
James Bender Tom Daly
A Reporter
Joseph Beruh A Prison Guard
A Drugstore Clerk
A Waiter
Danny Mines
A Reporter
Michael Constantine Al
Owner of a Speakeasy
Jonathan Wilk
The Defense Attorney
Dr. Ball
Joan Croydon Mrs. Straus
Edward Cullen Judge Matthewson
Roger De Koven Ferdinand Feldscher
Reynolds Evans Dr. Stauffer
Chris Gampel Judd Steiner (today)
The Steiners' Chauffeur
Stefan Gierasch Max Steiner
Gerald Gordon Sid Silver (today)
Sid Silver (1924)
Mark Gordon A Bartender
Prison Guard
Lloyd Gough Dr. McNarry
James Greene Mr. Farmer
Dr. Vincenti
Ted Gunther Swasey
A Detective
Earl Hammond James Straus
Muriel Higgins First Girl
Bernard Lenrow Judah Steiner, Jr.
Barbara Loden Myra Seligman
John Marley Mike Prager
Another Reporter
Barbara Miners Third Girl
Gina Petrushka Elsie Kessler
Suzanne Pleshette Fourth Girl
James Ray Lyman
A Third Reporter
Raphael Goetz
Dorothy Raymond A Medium
Aunt Bertha
Patricia Roe A Girl on the Telephone
Second Girl
Luchino Solito de Solis Billy Straus
Paul Stevens Padua
Assistant to the Prosecutor
D. J. Sullivan Milt Lewis
Elliot Sullivan McNamara
A Detective
Maybelle Wright Peg Sweet
A Newspaper Woman
Ben Yaffee Oliver Steger
Tony Award®
 1958 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Peter Larkin