A Raisin in the Sun | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Raisin in the Sun   

Royale Theatre, (4/26/2004 - 7/11/2004)
First Preview: Mar 30, 2004 Total Previews: 32
Opening Date: Apr 26, 2004    
Closing Date: Jul 11, 2004 Total Performances: 88

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: Chicago's Southside in the 1950s.

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Philip J. Smith: President; Robert E. Wankel: Executive Vice President)
Produced by David Binder, Vivek J. Tiwary, Susan Batson, Carl Rumbaugh, Ruth Hendel, Arielle Tepper, Jayne Baron Sherman, Dede Harris, Barbara Whitman and Cynthia Stroum; Associate Producer: Eric Schnall, Brian Savelson and Hal Goldberg
Written by Lorraine Hansberry; Incidental music by Dwight Andrews
Directed by Kenny Leon; Choreographed by Patdro Harris
Scenic Design by Thomas Lynch; Costume Design by Paul Tazewell; Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt; Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald; Hair and Wig Design by Charles LaPointe; Associate Costume Design: Austin K. Sanderson; Assistant Scenic Design: Charles Corcoran; Associate Lighting Design: Anne E. McMills; Assistant Lighting Design: Jason Lyons; Assistant Sound Design: Carl Casella
General Manager: Robert Cole Productions, Inc. and Lisa M. Poyer; Company Manager: G. Eric Muratalla; Business Development: Gary Kaplan
Production Manager: Gene O'Donovan; Production Stage Manager: Michael Brunner; Stage Manager: Narda Alcorn
Dialect and Vocal Coach: Kate Wilson; Assistant to the Director: Rajendra Maharaj; Director of Marketing: Eric Schnall; Press Representative: The Publicity Office; Dramaturg: Michael Friedman; Casting: James Calleri; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Photographer: Joan Marcus; Website and Interactive Services: Situation Marketing and Damian Bazadona
Sean Combs
Broadway debut
Walter Lee Younger
Audra McDonaldRuth Younger
Phylicia RashadLena Younger
Sanaa Lathan
Broadway debut
Beneatha Younger
Bill Nunn
Broadway debut
David Aaron BakerKarl Lindner
Lawrence BallardMoving Man
Teagle F. BougereJoseph Asagai
Frank Harts
Broadway debut
George Murchison
Billy Eugene JonesMoving Man
Alexander MitchellTravis Younger
Understudies: Lawrence Ballard (George Murchison, Joseph Asagai), Cyrus Farmer (Bobo, George Murchison, Joseph Asagai, Moving Man), Billy Eugene Jones (Bobo, Walter Lee Younger), Martin Kildare (Karl Lindner), Greta Oglseby (Lena Younger), Aaron Pannell (Travis Younger) and Heather Alicia Simms (Beneatha Younger, Ruth Younger)
Tony Award®
 2004 Best Revival of a Play [nominee] 
 Produced by David Binder , Vivek J. Tiwary , Susan Batson , Carl Rumbaugh , Ruth Hendel , Jayne Baron Sherman , Dede Harris , Arielle Tepper , Cynthia Stroum and Barbara Whitman
winner 2004 Best Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Phylicia Rashad
winner 2004 Best Featured Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Audra McDonald
 2004 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Sanaa Lathan
Theatre World
winner 2004 Award [recipient] 
  Sanaa Lathan
Drama Desk Award
 2004 Outstanding Revival of a Play [nominee] 
 Produced by David Binder , Vivek J. Tiwary , Susan Batson , Carl Rumbaugh , Ruth Hendel , Arielle Tepper , Jayne Baron Sherman , Dede Harris , Barbara Whitman and Cynthia Stroum
winner 2004 Outstanding Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Phylicia Rashad
winner 2004 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Audra McDonald
 2004 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by Kenny Leon