IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

The Merry Countess   

Casino Theatre , (8/20/1912 - 12/14/1912)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Aug 20, 1912   
Closing Date:Dec 14, 1912 Total Performances:135

Category: Musical, Comedy, Opera, Original, Broadway
Description: A comic opera in three acts
Setting: A fashionable watering place in Austria

Production Staff
Produced by Messrs. Shubert (Lee and J. J.)
Music by Johann Strauss; Book by Gladys Unger; Lyrics by Arthur Anderson; Based on "Le Reveillon" by Ludovic HalÚvy; Based on the operette "Die Fledermaus" by: Carl Haffner and Richard Genee; Based on "Le Reveillon" by: Henri Meilhac; Musical Director: Oscar Radin; Featuring songs by Joseph H. McKeon
Choreographed by Emile Agoust; Staged by Charles A. Maynard; Production Supervised by Melville Ellis
Costume Design by Melville Ellis; Scenic Design by R.C. McCleery and Terraine
Miss. Arthur Chorus
A. W. Baskcomb Mattoni
Betty Berry Chorus
Mr. Bogart Chorus
Josephine Brandell Sidi
Lorraine Bright Chorus
Mildred Bright Chorus
F Brown Chorus
H Brown Chorus
Martin Brown Prince Orloffsky
Mabel Burnege Minna
H. Collins Chorus
Jose Collins Countess Rosalinda Cliquot
Corgene Dare Chorus
Mlle. Dazie Premiere Danseuse
Miss DeAragon Chorus
Mr. Diamond Chorus
Rozsika Dolly Felice
Yansci Dolly Adele
Vyvyen Donner Faustine
Ninon Dudley Melanie
Robert Dunlap Chorus
Miss Dunn Chorus
Maurice Farkoa Gabor Szabo
a Hungarian
Frank Farrington Neirstiner
Deputy Governor
Irving Feiner Chorus
Robert Feuhrer Leopold
Tiger to Prince Orloffsky
Claude Flemming Dr. Berncastler
Miss Fonteny Chorus
Madeline Frain Chorus
Mr. Frenac Chorus
Warner Gault Chorus
Marion George Felicita
James Georgi Joseph
Estelle Grayce Natalie
Miss Hall Chorus
Henry Hanft Chorus
Mr. Holmer Chorus
Forrest Huff Count Max Cliquot
Violet Jewell Chorus
Mr. Klein Chorus
B. Lang Chorus
Irving Lavitz Chorus
Miss Lawlor Chorus
Violet Lorraine Chorus
George Lyman A Warden
Miss Lyons Chorus
Miss MacDonald Chorus
Arthur Miller Ernest
Miss Grayce Chorus
Miss Miuller Chorus
Blixie Murrie Chorus
B. Nodraer Chorus
Mr. O'Rourke Chorus
C. Peckard Chorus
M. Peckard Chorus
Arthur Pepe Wilhelm
Evelyn Provost Irma
Miss Randolph Chorus
Miss Raymond Chorus
Frank Ross Inspector of Police
Juanita Russell Fritzie
Mr. Sack Chorus
Mona Sartoris Chorus
Dorothy Sayce Chorus
Dorothy Scherer Chorus
Tom A. Shale Hochheimer
Governor of the New Age Prison
Stone Sommerfield Chorus
Mr. Summerville Chorus
Mr. Trentini Chorus
Fritzi Von Busing Ilka
a Parlormaid
Mr. Whitcomb Chorus
Sue Young Doreen
music by Johann Strauss; lyrics by Arthur Anderson
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1Sung By
Serenade Gabor Szabo (a Hungarian)
Letter Song Ilka (a Parlormaid)
ACT 2Sung By
Prince Orloffsky's Ballet Premiere Danseuse and Ballet
Czardas Countess Rosalinda Cliquot
ACT 3Sung By
Jail Birds
(music by Melville Ellis; lyrics by Martin Brown)
Felice and Chorus
The Blue Danube (Just That You Are You) Gabor Szabo (a Hungarian) and Mattoni
Must We Say Goodbye?
(music by Joseph H. McKeon and Arthur Gutman; lyrics by Joseph H. McKeon and Arthur Gutman)
Countess Rosalinda Cliquot and Gabor Szabo (a Hungarian)