The Iceman Cometh | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Iceman Cometh   

Brooks Atkinson Theatre, (4/08/1999 - 7/17/1999)
First Preview: Mar 29, 1999 Total Previews: 10
Opening Date: Apr 08, 1999    
Closing Date: Jul 17, 1999 Total Performances: 102

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Setting: Downtown West Side of New York City. Harry Hope's bar. 1912

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman Emeritus; James L. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President)
Produced by Allan S. Gordon, Bill Haber, Ira Pittelman, Élan McAllister, Trigger Street Productions and Emanuel Azenberg; Associate Producer: Ginger Montel
Based on an original production by The Almeida Theatre Company
Written by Eugene O'Neill; Incidental music by Paddy Cunneen
Directed by Howard Davies; Associate Director: Jonathan Bernstein
Scenic Design by Bob Crowley; Costume Design by Bob Crowley; Lighting Design by Mark Henderson; Sound Design by John A. Leonard and Aura Sound Design, Ltd.
General Manager: Abbie M. Strassler; Company Manager: Edward J. Nelson
Production Stage Manager: Steven Zweigbaum; Technical Supervisor: Unitech II, Corp; Stage Manager: Rolt Smith
Casting: Jay Binder; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown
Tony DanzaRocky Pioggi
Ed DixonPiet Wetjoen
The General
Michael EmersonWillie Oban
Katie FinneranCora
Paul GiamattiJames Cameron
Jimmy Tomorrow
Patrick L. GodfreyCecil Lewis
The Captain
James HazeldineHarry Hope
Catherine KellnerMargie
Robert Sean LeonardDon Parritt
Clarke PetersJoe Mott
Tim Pigott-SmithLarry Slade
Richard RiehlePat McGloin
Steve RyanMoran
Stephen SingerHugo Kalmar
Kevin SpaceyTheodore Hickman
Dina SpybeyPearl
Skipp SudduthChuck Morello
Ned Van ZandtLieb
Jeff WeissEd Mosher
Understudies: Jarlath Conroy (Cecil Lewis, Ed Mosher, Harry Hope, Hugo Kalmar, Pat McGloin), Julian Gamble (Cecil Lewis, Ed Mosher, Larry Slade, Pat McGloin, Piet Wetjoen), Teri Lamm (Cora, Margie, Pearl), Matthew Mabe (Don Parritt, Rocky Pioggi, Willie Oban), Steve Ryan (Chuck Morello, Piet Wetjoen, Rocky Pioggi), Ned Van Zandt (Hugo Kalmar, James Cameron, Moran) and Isiah Whitlock, Jr. (Joe Mott, Lieb)
Tony Award®
 1999 Best Revival of a Play [nominee] 
 Produced by Allan S. Gordon , Bill Haber , Ira Pittelman , Élan McAllister , Trigger Street Productions and Emanuel Azenberg
 1999 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  Kevin Spacey
 1999 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Bob Crowley
 1999 Best Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Mark Henderson
 1999 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Howard Davies
Theatre World
winner 1999 Award [recipient] 
  Clarke Peters
Drama Desk Award
winner 1999 Outstanding Revival of a Play [winner] 
 Produced by Allan S. Gordon , Bill Haber , Ira Pittelman , Élan McAllister , Trigger Street Productions and Emanuel Azenberg
 1999 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Paul Giamatti
 1999 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by Howard Davies