IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Inherit the Wind   

Royale Theatre , (4/04/1996 - 5/12/1996)
First Preview:Feb 27, 1996 Total Previews:42
Opening Date:Apr 04, 1996   
Closing Date:May 12, 1996 Total Performances:45

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Setting: A small town. Summer. Not too long ago.
Comments: Postponed opening from 3/18 to 4/4.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President; Philip J. Smith: Executive VP; Robert E. Wankel: VP-Finance)
Produced by National Actors Theatre (Tony Randall, Founder and Artistic Director; Fred Walker, Managing Director)
Written by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee
Directed by John Tillinger
Scenic Design by James Noone; Lighting Design by Ken Billington; Costume Design by Jess Goldstein; Sound Design by Aural Fixation; Assistant Set Designer Paul Melia; Associate Lighting Design: John McKernon; Assistant Costume Design: Laurie A. Churba and Murrell Horton; Assistant Sound Design: David M. Schulman
General Manager: Niko Associates, Inc. (Manny Kladitis, Founder and President); Company Manager: David Richards; Executive Producer: Manny Kladitis
Technical Supervisor: Arthur Siccardi; Production Supervisor: Maureen F. Gibson; Production Stage Manager: Wm. Hare; Stage Manager: Jill Rendall
Casting: Deborah Brown; General Press Representative: Springer Associates, Inc.
Charles Durning Matthew Harrison Brady
George C. Scott Henry Drummond
Tom Aldredge Rev. Jeremiah Brown
Sam Andrew Ensemble
Reathel Bean Mayor
Jeff Berry Ensemble
Marylouise Burke Mrs. Krebs
Fred Burrell Dunlap
Allie Calnan Melinda
Jennifer Chambers Ensemble
Alice Connorton Mother
Bill Corritore Hurdy Gurdy Man
Bill Corry Ensemble
Dominic Cuskern Reuter's Man
Paul F. Dano Howard
Katherine De Boda Ensemble
Garret Dillahunt Bertram Cates
David Dossey Mr. Bannister
Brad Fairbanks Ensemble
Kate Forbes Rachel Brown
Clement Fowler Mr. Goodfellow
Glenn Gehweiler Ensemble
Joe Gioco Ensemble
John Griesemer Sillers
Anthony Heald E. K. Hornbeck
Bette Henritze Mrs. Brady
Rich Heraty Ensemble
Prudence Wright Holmes Mrs. McLain
J. R. Horne Harry Y. Esterbrook
William York Hyde Ensemble
Dawn Jamieson Ensemble
Robert Jiménez Vendor
John Kinsherf Ensemble
Brett LaRose Ensemble
Herndon Lackey Tom Davenport
Craig Lawlor Timmy
Michael Lehr Ensemble
John Lenartz Ensemble
Michael Lombard Judge
Kevin McClarnon Finney
Joyce Lynn O'Connor Mrs. Blair
Charles Prior Ensemble
Ronn K. Smith Elijah
Norman Snow Platt
Timothy Sozen Ensemble
Judith Stambler Ensemble
Tom Stechschulte Meeker
Kenneth P. Strong Cooper
Mark C. Tafoya Ensemble
Sewell Whitney Ensemble
Standby: Tony Randall (E. K. Hornbeck, Henry Drummond)
Understudies: Fred Burrell (Platt), Allie Calnan (Timmy), Dominic Cuskern (Dunlap, Mr. Bannister, Tom Davenport), Prudence Wright Holmes (Mrs. Brady), J. R. Horne (Matthew Harrison Brady), Robert Jiménez (Bertram Cates), Craig Lawlor (Howard, Melinda), Kevin McClarnon (Cooper, Meeker, Reuter's Man, Sillers), Norman Snow (Judge, Mayor, Rev. Jeremiah Brown) and Kenneth P. Strong (Elijah, Harry Y. Esterbrook, Vendor)
Tony Award®
 1996 Best Revival of a Play [nominee]
Produced by National Actors Theatre (Tony Randall, Founder and Artistic Director; Fred Walker, Managing Director)
 1996 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
George C. Scott