IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Plymouth Theatre , (10/24/1991 - 10/25/1992)
First Preview:Oct 11, 1991 Total Previews:15
Opening Date:Oct 24, 1991   
Closing Date:Oct 25, 1992 Total Performances:421

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The home of the Mundy family, two miles outside the village of Ballybeg, County Donegal, Ireland. August 1936.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Noel Pearson; Produced in association with Bill Kenwright and Joseph Harris
Originally produced by The Abbey Theatre of Dublin
Written by Brian Friel
Directed by Patrick Mason; Choreographed by Terry John Bates
Scenic Design by Joe Vanek; Costume Design by Joe Vanek; Lighting Design by Trevor Dawson; Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald
General Manager: Joseph Harris; Company Manager: Nancy Simmons
Production Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris; Technical Supervisor: Harris Production Services; Production Stage Manager: Sally J. Jacobs; Stage Manager: Hillary Blanken
General Press Representative: Shirley Herz Associates and Miller Wright; Advertising: LeDonne, Wilner, & Weiner, Inc.
Bríd Brennan Agnes
Catherine Byrne Chris
Donal Donnelly Jack
Robert Gwilym Gerry
Rosaleen Linehan Kate
Gerard McSorley Michael
Dearbhla Molloy Maggie
Bríd Ní Neachtain Rose
Understudies: Selena Carey-Jones (Maggie, Rose), Alma Cuervo (Kate), Liam Gannon (Jack), Kenneth L. Marks (Gerry, Michael) and Bernadette Quigley (Agnes, Chris)
Theatre World
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Bríd Brennan
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Catherine Byrne
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Donal Donnelly
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Robert Gwilym
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Rosaleen Linehan
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Gerard McSorley
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Dearbhla Molloy
nominee 1992 Special Award [recipient]
Bríd Ní Neachtain
Tony Award®
winner 1992 Best Play [winner]
Written by Brian Friel; Produced by Noel Pearson; Produced in association with Bill Kenwright and Joseph Harris
winner 1992 Best Featured Actress in a Play [winner]
Bríd Brennan
 1992 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Rosaleen Linehan
 1992 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Dearbhla Molloy
 1992 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Joe Vanek
 1992 Best Costume Design [nominee]
Joe Vanek
 1992 Best Choreography [nominee]
Terry John Bates
winner 1992 Best Direction of a Play [winner]
Patrick Mason
Drama Desk Award
 1992 Outstanding New Play [nominee]
Produced by Noel Pearson; Produced in association with Bill Kenwright and Joseph Harris; Written by Brian Friel
winner 1992 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner]
Directed by Patrick Mason
 1992 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee]
Trevor Dawson
winner 1992 Outstanding Ensemble Performance [winner]
Performer: Bríd Brennan, Catherine Byrne, Donal Donnelly, Robert Gwilym, Rosaleen Linehan, Gerard McSorley, Dearbhla Molloy and Bríd Ní Neachtain
 1992 Outstanding Set Design [nominee]
Scenic Design by Joe Vanek