Those Were the Days | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Those Were the Days   
The New English-Yiddish Musical Revue

Edison Theatre, (11/07/1990 - 2/24/1991)
First Preview: Oct 23, 1990 Total Previews: 18
Opening Date: Nov 07, 1990    
Closing Date: Feb 24, 1991 Total Performances: 126

Category: Musical, Revue, Original, Broadway

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Edison Management Corporation
Produced by Moe Septee; Produced in association with Victor H. Potamkin, Zalmen Mlotek and Moishe Rosenfeld
Conception and continuity: Zalmen Mlotek and Moishe Rosenfeld; Musical Director: Zalmen Mlotek; Music by Joseph Rumshinsky ("Shloymele-Malkele"), Ben Yomen ("Shabes, Shabes, Shabes" (Welcoming the Sabbath)), Gioacchino Rossini ("Figaro's Aria" (From The Barber of Seville)), Lew Pollack ("My Yiddishe Mame"), Sholom Secunda ("Bei Mir Bistu Schoen" (To Me, You're Beautiful)) and Samuel Steinberg ("Yosl, Yosl"); Words by Itsik Manger ("Yosl Ber"; folk-melody), Mani Leib ("Mamenyu Tayere" (Dear Mama); folk-melody), Ben Bonus ("Shabes, Shabes, Shabes" (Welcoming the Sabbath)), Jack Yeller ("My Yiddishe Mame"), Jacob Jacobs ("Bei Mir Bistu Schoen" (To Me, You're Beautiful)) and Nellie Casman ("Yosl, Yosl"); Words and Music by M. Warshavsky ("Ofyn Pripetshik" (At the Fireplace); "Di Rod" (The Circle)), M. Gebirtig ("Ver Der Ershter Vet Lakhn" (Who Will Laugh First?), "Motele"), A. Lebedeff ("Hudl Mitn Shtrudl" (Hudl with the Shtrudl); "Rumania, Rumania"), Sholom Secunda ("Rumania, Rumania"), Gene Raskin ("Those Were the Days"), Mel Tolkin ("The Palace of the Czar"), Hymie Jacobson ("Litvak/Galitsyaner"), Bella Meisel ("Papirosn" (Cigarettes)) and Herman Yablokoff ("Papirosn" (Cigarettes)); Yiddish Lyrics by Chana Mlotek ("Yiddish International Radio Hour"), Robert Abelson ("Figaro's Aria" (From The Barber of Seville)) and Moishe Rosenfeld ("Figaro's Aria" (From The Barber of Seville)); English Lyrics by Sammy Cahn ("Bei Mir Bistu Schoen" (To Me, You're Beautiful)) and Saul Chaplin ("Bei Mir Bistu Schoen" (To Me, You're Beautiful)); Based on a story by I. L. Peretz ("On a Moonlit Night") and Sholom Aleichem ("Kasrilevke Restoran" (A Restuarant in Kasrilevke); "Shalakh-Mones" (Gifts for Purim)); American folksong adapted by Wolf Younin ("Halevay Volt Ikh Singl Geven" (I Wish I Were Single Again)); From the repertoire of Menashe Oppenheim ("Mamenyu Tayere" (Dear Mama); folk-melody); Folksong "Saposhkelekh" (The Boots) from the research of Michael Alpert; From the "Forbidden Songs" of Soviet Jews as recorded by David Eshet ("Mayn Alte Heym"); Based on a song by Fishl Kanapoff ("Hootsatsa"); Additional material by E. Cecuona, Jacques Offenbach, M. Makeba, Frank Loesser, Manos Hadjidakis, B. Towne, Bruce Adler, Robert Abelson, Mina Bern and Eleanor Reissa
Directed by Eleanor Reissa; Choreographed by Eleanor Reissa
Lighting Design by Tom Sturge; Scenic Design by Tom Sturge; Costume Design by Gail Cooper-Hecht; Sound Design by Jim Badrak and Alan Gregorie; Hair Design by Teddy Jenkins
General Manager: Leonard Soloway; Company Manager: Abby Evans
Production Manager: Peter Lawrence; Production Stage Manager: Charles Blackwell; Stage Manager: Greta Minsky; Technical Supervisor: Theatrical Services, Inc.
Woodwinds: Howard Leshaw; Keyboards: Alkiviades Steriopoulos; Drums: Allen Herman and John Redsecker; Bass: Edward Conte; Piano: Zalmen Mlotek; Music Contractor: Howard Leshaw; Conducted by Zalmen Mlotek
General Press Representative: Max Eisen; Press Representative: Madelon Rosen Solomon; Advertising: LeDonne & Wilner
Robert AbelsonPerformer
Bruce AdlerPerformer
Mina BernPerformer
The Golden Land Klezmer OrchestraOrchestra
Eleanor ReissaPerformer
Lori WilnerPerformer
Understudies: Norman Atkins (Performer), Sandra Ben Dor (Performer), Shifra Lerer (Performer) and Stuart Zagnit (Performer)
Tony Award®
 1991 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Bruce Adler
 1991 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee] 
  Eleanor Reissa
Drama Desk Award
winner 1991 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical [winner] 
  Bruce Adler
 1991 Outstanding Musical Revue/Entertainment [nominee] 
 Produced by Moe Septee ;  Produced in association with Victor H. Potamkin , Zalmen Mlotek and Moishe Rosenfeld