IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Palace Theatre , (4/18/1994 - 9/05/1999)
Lunt-Fontanne Theatre , (11/11/1999 - 7/29/2007)
First Preview:Mar 09, 1994 Total Previews:46
Opening Date:Apr 18, 1994   
Closing Date:Jul 29, 2007 Total Performances:5461

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Stewart F. Lane and The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President; James L. Nederlander: Vice-President)
President, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Ron Logan; Vice President and Producer, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Robert McTyre; Produced by Walt Disney Productions; Associate Producer: Donald Frantz
Lyrics by Tim Rice and Howard Ashman; Dance arrangements by Glen Kelly; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob; Vocal arrangements by David Friedman; Musical Director: Michael Kosarin; Incidental music arranged by Michael Kosarin; Additional orchestrations: Michael Starobin; Music by Alan Menken; Book by Linda Woolverton
Directed by Robert Jess Roth; Choreographed by Matt West
Lighting Design by Natasha Katz; Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald; Hair Design by David H. Lawrence; Prosthetics by John Dods; Associate Lighting Design: Ted Mather; Projection Effects: Wendall K. Harrington; Scenic Design by Stan Meyer; Associate Costume Design: Tracy Christensen; Costume Design by Ann Hould-Ward
General Manager: Dodger Productions; Company Manager: Kim Sellon; Associate Gen. Mgr: Robert C. Strickstein
Production Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris; Production Stage Manager: James Harker; Technical Supervisor: Harris Production Services; Stage Manager: John M. Atherlay, Pat Sosnow and Kim Vernace; Associate Prod. Suprvr: Tom Shane Bussey
Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Musical Supervisor: David Friedman; Conducted by Michael Kosarin; Music Preparation: Miller Music Services and Miller Music Services; Concert Master: Belinda Whitney; Violin: Cenovia Cummins, Evan Johnson, George Wozniak and Jean "Rudy" Perrault; Cello: Caryl Paisner and Joseph Kimura; Bass: Jeffrey Carney; Flute: Katherine Fink; Oboe: Vicki Bodner; Clarinet/Flute: KeriAnn Kathryn Di Bari; Flute/Clarinet: Alva Hunt; Bassoon: Marc Goldberg; Trumpet: Neil Balm and Tony Kadleck; French Horn: Jeffrey Lang, Anthony Cecere and Glen Estrin; Bass Trombone/Tuba: Paul Faulise; Drums: John Redsecker; Percussion: Joe Passaro; Harp: Stacey Shames; Keyboard: Kathy Sommer and Glen Kelly; Associate Conductor: Kathy Sommer
Illusions by Jim Steinmeyer and John Gaughan; Pyrotechnic Design: Tyler Wymer
Fight direction by Rick Sordelet; Dance Captain: Dan Mojica; Assistant to the Director: Michael Gans; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Casting: Jay Binder; Marketing Consultant: Margery Singer; Photographer: Joan Marcus and Marc Bryan-Brown; Production Coordinator: Elisa Padula
Susan Egan Belle
Terrence Mann Beast
Joan Barber Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Roxane Barlow Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Gary Beach Lumiere
Harrison Beal Young Prince (Mar 09, 1994)
Townsperson, Enchanted Object (Mar 09, 1994)
Tom Bosley Maurice
Michael-Demby Cain Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Kate Dowe Townsperson, Enchanted Object
David Elder Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Merwin Foard Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Beth Fowler Mrs. Potts
Gregory Garrison Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Eleanor Glockner Madame de la Grande Bouche
Jack Hayes Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Kim Huber Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Elmore James Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Heath Lamberts Cogsworth
Stacey Logan Babette
Rob Lorey Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Patrick Loy Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Barbara Marineau Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Joanne McHugh Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Anna McNeely Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Burke Moses Gaston
Bill Nabel Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Wendy Oliver Enchantress
Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Vince Pesce Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Brian Press Chip
Paige Price Silly Girl
Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Kenny Raskin Lefou
Sarah Solie Shannon Silly Girl
Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Gordon Stanley Monsieur D'Arque
Townsperson, Enchanted Object
David Ogden Stiers Prologue Narrator Recorded voice only
Linda Talcott Silly Girl
Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Wysandria Woolsey Townsperson, Enchanted Object
Swings: Joan Barber, Kate Dowe, Gregory Garrison, Alisa Klein, Rob Lorey and Dan Mojica
Standby: Chuck Wagner (Beast)
Understudies: Harrison Beal (Lefou), Kate Dowe (Doormat, Enchantress, Silly Girl), David Elder (Beast), Merwin Foard (Gaston), Gregory Garrison (Young Prince), Kim Huber (Belle), Alisa Klein (Enchantress, Silly Girl), Rob Lorey (Monsieur D'Arque), Barbara Marineau (Madame de la Grande Bouche, Mrs. Potts), Joanne McHugh (Babette), Anna McNeely (Madame de la Grande Bouche, Mrs. Potts), Dan Mojica (Young Prince), Bill Nabel (Cogsworth, Lumiere, Maurice), Vince Pesce (Lefou), Paige Price (Belle), Sarah Solie Shannon (Babette), Gordon Stanley (Cogsworth, Lumiere, Maurice), Linda Talcott (Chip) and Chuck Wagner (Gaston)
Tony Award®
 1994 Best Musical [nominee]
President, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Ron Logan; Vice President and Producer, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Robert McTyre
 1994 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by Linda Woolverton
 1994 Best Original Score [nominee]
Lyrics by Tim Rice
 1994 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Terrence Mann
 1994 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Susan Egan
 1994 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Gary Beach
winner 1994 Best Costume Design [winner]
Ann Hould-Ward
 1994 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Natasha Katz
 1994 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee]
Robert Jess Roth
Drama Desk Award
 1994 Outstanding Musical [nominee]
President, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Ron Logan; Vice President and Producer, Walt Disney Theatrical Productions: Robert McTyre
 1994 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Terrence Mann
 1994 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Susan Egan
 1994 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Performer: Burke Moses
 1994 Outstanding Choreography [nominee]
Matt West
 1994 Outstanding Orchestrations [nominee]
Danny Troob
 1994 Outstanding Lyrics [nominee]
Lyrics by Tim Rice
 1994 Outstanding Sound Design [nominee]
Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald
 1994 Outstanding Special Effects [nominee]
Illusions by Jim Steinmeyer and John Gaughan
Theatre World
nominee 1994 Award [recipient]
Burke Moses
music by Alan Menken; lyrics by Howard Ashman
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1Sung By
Belle Belle, Gaston, Lefou, Silly Girls and Townspeople
No Matter What
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Maurice and Belle
No Matter What (Reprise)
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Gaston and Belle
Belle (Reprise)Belle
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Home (Reprise)
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Mrs. Potts
Gaston Lefou, Gaston, Silly Girls and Tavern Patrons
Gaston (Reprise)Gaston and Lefou
How Long Must This Go On?
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Be Our Guest Lumiere, Mrs. Potts, Cogsworth, Wardrobe, Chip, Babette and Enchanted Objects
If I Can't Love Her
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
ACT 2Sung By
Something There Belle, Beast, Lumiere, Mrs. Potts and Cogsworth
Human Again Lumiere, Wardrobe, Cogsworth, Mrs. Potts, Babette, Chip and Enchanted Objects
Maison des Lunes
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Gaston, Lefou and Monsieur D'Arque
Beauty and the Beast Mrs. Potts
If I Can't Love Her (Reprise)
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
A Change in Me
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
The Mob Song Gaston, Lefou, Monsieur D'Arque and Townspeople
The Battle The Company
(lyrics by Tim Rice)
Beast and Belle
Beauty and the Beast (Reprise)The Company