Execution of Justice | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Execution of Justice   

Virginia Theatre, (3/13/1986 - 3/22/1986)
First Preview: Mar 05, 1986 Total Previews: 8
Opening Date: Mar 13, 1986    
Closing Date: Mar 22, 1986 Total Performances: 12

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: 1978 to the present. San Francisco.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (under the direction of Richard G. Wolff, President)
Produced by Lester Osterman, Marjorie Osterman and Mortimer Caplin; Produced in association with Norton & Stark, Inc.
Professional premiere at the Actors Theatre of Louisville
Written by Emily Mann
Directed by Emily Mann; Assistant Director: Molly Fowler
Scenic Design by Ming Cho Lee; Costume Design by Jennifer von Mayrhauser; Lighting Design by Pat Collins; Sound Design by Tom Morse
General Manager: Allan Francis
Production Stage Manager: Frank Marino; Stage Manager: Fredric Hanson; Assistant Stage Mgr: Elise Warner; Technical Supervisor: Arthur Siccardi
Casting: Johnson-Liff Associates; General Press Representative: Hunt / Pucci Associates; Photographer: Gerry Goodstein; Dramaturg: Mark Bly; Advertising: The Golden Group
Film sequences excerpted from "The Times of Harvey Milk" by Robert Epstein and Richard Schmiechen; Originally commissioned by the Eureka Theatre Company
Gerry BammanThomas F. Norman
Prosecuting Attorney
Lisabeth BartlettYoung Mother
Court Clerk
Denise Apcar
Aide To White
Jeremy O. CaplinBailiff
Riot Policeman
Josh ClarkProspective Juror
Riot Policeman
Jon De VriesFrank Falzon
Inspector, Homicide
Dr. Delman
Riot Policeman
Donal DonnellyHarry Britt
City Supervisor; Milk's Successor
Coroner Stephens
Dr. Blinder
Peter FriedmanDouglas Schmidt
Defense Attorney
Nicholas HormannJoseph Freitas
Carl Henry Carlson
Aide To Harvey Milk
Richard HowardAction Cameraman
Suzy HuntProspective Juror
Cyr Copertini
Secretary To The Mayor
Earle HymanRudy Nothenberg
Deputy Mayor, Moscone's Friend
Dr. Jones
Nicholas KeprosThe Court
Marcia Jean KurtzBarbara Taylor
Dr. Solomon
Carol Ruth Silver
City Supervisor
Mary McDonnellMary Ann White
Christopher McHaleJim Denman
White's Jailer
Isabell MonkGwenn Craig
Vice President of Harvey Milk Democratic Club
Officer Byrne
Department of Records
Adam RedfieldMilk's Friend
Gary ReinekeJuror #3/Foreman
Fire Chief
Dr. Lunde
Dr. Levy
Richard RiehleWilliam Melia
Civil Engineer
Lee Dolson
City Supervisor
Riot Policeman
Freda Foh ShenJoanna Lu
TV Reporter
Wesley SnipesSister Boom Boom
Political Activist
Richard Pabich
Assistant To Harvey Milk
John SpencerDan White
Stanley TucciCop
Edward Erdelatz
Police Officer
Riot Policeman
Understudies: Jeremy O. Caplin (Jim Denman, Juror #2), Josh Clark (Douglas Schmidt, Milk's Friend, Richard Pabich, Sister Boom Boom), Suzy Hunt (Carol Ruth Silver, Dr. Solomon), Christopher McHale (Bailiff, Dan White, Frank Falzon, Frediani, Jim Denman, Riot Policeman), Richard Poe (Coroner Stephens, Dr. Blinder, Dr. Jones, Dr. Levy, Dr. Lunde, Harry Britt, Juror #3/Foreman, Lee Dolson, Riot Policeman, Rudy Nothenberg, Sherratt, The Court, William Melia), Gary Reineke (Carl Henry Carlson, Joseph Freitas, Mourner), Richard Riehle (Cop, Edward Erdelatz), Carlotta Schoch (Cyr Copertini, Denise Apcar, Gwenn Craig, Joanna Lu, Juror #1, Mary Ann White, Officer Byrne, Young Mother), Wesley Snipes (Sullivan) and Elise Warner (Barbara Taylor)
Drama Desk Award
 1986 Outstanding New Play [nominee] 
 Produced by Lester Osterman , Marjorie Osterman and Mortimer Caplin ;  Produced in association with Norton & Stark, Inc. ;  Written by Emily Mann
winner 1986 Outstanding Lighting Design [winner] 
  Pat Collins
 1986 Outstanding Sound Design/Music in a Play [nominee] 
 Sound Design by Tom Morse
 1986 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Ming Cho Lee