IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Circle in the Square Theatre , (10/10/1985 - 12/15/1985)
First Preview:Sep 21, 1985 Total Previews:22
Opening Date:Oct 10, 1985   
Closing Date:Dec 15, 1985 Total Performances:77

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Circle in the Square (under the direction of Theodore Mann and Paul Libin)
Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Managing Director)
Written by Pierre Augustin Beaumarchais; Book adapted by Richard Nelson; Translated by Richard Nelson; Incidental music by Richard Peaslee; Musical Director: Donald York
Directed by Andrei Serban; Assistant Director: Charles Otte; Skate Choreography by Debbie Merrill
Scenic Design by Beni Montresor; Costume Design by Beni Montresor; Lighting Design by Beni Montresor; Wig Design by Paul Huntley
Company Manager: William Conn
Production Stage Manager: Michael F. Ritchie
Violin: Jill Jaffe; Reeds: Richard Cohen; Percussion: William Uttley
Circle in the Square Senior Press Agent: Merle Debuskey; Circle in the Square Press Representative: William Schelble; Casting: Hughes / Moss Casting; Advertising: The Golden Group
Anthony Heald Figaro
Dana Ivey Countess
Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio Suzanne
Christopher Reeve Count Almaviva
James Cahill Bazile
Robertson Carricart Peasant
Caitlin Clarke Cherubino
William Duell Antonio
Francine Forbes Peasant
David Giella Peasant
Edna Harris Shepherd Child
Scott Lindsay Johnson Pedrille
Piper Lawrence Shepherd Child
Debbie Merrill Fanchette
Dan Nutu Gripe-Soleil
Carol-Ann Planté Shepherd Child
Paula Redinger Peasant
Connie Roderick Peasant
Daniel D. Scott Pedrille
Luke Sickle Peasant
Carol Teitel Marceline
Louis Zorich Dr. Bartholo
Understudies: Dennis Bailey (Figaro), Robertson Carricart (Count Almaviva), Francine Forbes (Cherubino, Fanchette), David Giella (Gripe-Soleil), Paula Redinger (Countess), Connie Roderick (Marceline) and Luke Sickle (Antonio, Bazile, Dr. Bartholo)
Tony Award®
 1986 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Beni Montresor
 1986 Best Costume Design [nominee]
Beni Montresor