IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Lunt-Fontanne Theatre , (9/29/1985 - 12/01/1985)
First Preview:Sep 19, 1985 Total Previews:7
Opening Date:Sep 29, 1985   
Closing Date:Dec 01, 1985 Total Performances:55

Category: Play, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Setting: Downtown West Side of New York City. Harry Hope's bar. 1912

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Messrs. Nederlander
Produced by Lewis Allen, James M. Nederlander, Stephen Graham and Ben Edwards
Originally produced by American National Theatre (Peter Sellars, Director)
Written by Eugene O'Neill
Directed by José Quintero
Scenic Design by Ben Edwards; Costume Design by Jane Greenwood; Lighting Design by Thomas R. Skelton
General Manager: Joseph Harris Associates, Inc., Peter T. Kulok and Steven E. Goldstein
Production Stage Manager: Mitchell Erickson; Stage Manager: John Handy; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris Associates, Inc.
Casting: Meg Simon and Fran Kumin; General Press Representative: David Powers; Press Representative: Leo Stern; Photographer: Martha Swope; Advertising: Serino, Coyne & Nappi
Barnard Hughes Harry Hope
Donald Moffat Larry Slade
Jason Robards Theodore Hickman
Caroline Aaron Cora
Paul Austin Moran
Leonardo Cimino Hugo Kalmar
Walter Flanagan Lieb
James Greene James Cameron
Jimmy Tomorrow
John Christopher Jones Willie Oban
Harris Laskawy Chuck Morello
Paul McCrane Don Parritt
Pat McNamara Pat McGloin
Bill Moor Cecil Lewis
The Captain
Frederick Neumann Piet Wetjoen
The General
Kristine Nielsen Pearl
Natalia Nogulich Margie
John Pankow Rocky Pioggi
Roger Robinson Joe Mott
Allen Swift Ed Mosher
Understudies: Paul Austin (Cecil Lewis, Hugo Kalmar, James Cameron, Larry Slade), Maggie Baird (Cora, Margie, Pearl), Thomas Martell Brimm (Joe Mott, Lieb), Walter Flanagan (Ed Mosher, Pat McGloin, Piet Wetjoen), James Greene (Harry Hope), Christopher McHale (Chuck Morello, Moran, Willie Oban) and Stanley Tucci (Don Parritt, Rocky Pioggi)
Tony Award®
 1986 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Ben Edwards
 1986 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Thomas R. Skelton
 1986 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
José Quintero
 1986 Best Reproduction (Play or Musical) [nominee]
Produced by Lewis Allen, James M. Nederlander, Stephen Graham and Ben Edwards
Drama Desk Award
 1986 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Donald Moffat
 1986 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee]
Jane Greenwood
 1986 Outstanding Revival [nominee]
Produced by Lewis Allen, James M. Nederlander, Stephen Graham and Ben Edwards