IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
St. James Theatre , (2/19/1978 - 3/18/1979)
First Preview:Feb 09, 1978 Total Previews:11
Opening Date:Feb 19, 1978   
Closing Date:Mar 18, 1979 Total Performances:449

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: Mainly on the Twentieth Century Limited from Chicago to New York. The early 1930's.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (under the direction of Richard G. Wolff, President)
Produced by The Producers Circle 2, Inc., Robert Fryer, Mary Lea Johnson, James Cresson and Martin Richards; Produced in association with Joseph Harris and Ira Bernstein; Associate Producer: Sam Crothers and André Pastoria
Book by Betty Comden and Adolph Green; Lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green; Music by Cy Coleman; Based on the play by Ben Hecht, Charles MacArthur and Bruce Millholland; Musical Director: Paul Gemignani; Music orchestrated by Hershy Kay
Directed by Harold Prince; Musical Staging by Larry Fuller
Scenic Design by Robin Wagner; Costume Design by Florence Klotz; Lighting Design by Ken Billington; Hair Design by Richard Allen; Make-Up Design by Richard Allen; Sound Design by Robin Wagner
General Manager: Joseph Harris and Ira Bernstein; Business Manager: Frank Scardino
Production Stage Manager: George Martin; Stage Manager: E. Bronson Platt
Music Contractor: Mel Rodnon
Assistant to the Director: Ruth Mitchell; Furs by Ben Kahn Furs; Production Associate: Nina Goodman, Edward Merkow and Rick Mandel; Press Representative: Bill Evans and Mary Bryant; Casting: Joanna Merlin; Dance Captain: Gerald Teijelo; Advertising: J. Walter Thompson; Photographer: Martha Swope
Imogene Coca Letitia Primrose
John Cullum Oscar Jaffee
Madeline Kahn Lily Garland
George Lee Andrews Max Jacobs
Tom Batten Conductor Flanagan
Willi Burke Imelda
Dr. Johnson
Susan Cella Female Singer
Maris Clement Joan
Female Singer
George Coe Owen O'Malley
Peggy Cooper Female Singer
Keith Davis Porter
Dean Dittman Oliver Webb
Quitman Fludd III Porter
Karen Gibson Female Singer
Ray Gill Stage Manager
Male Singer
Ken Hilliard Priest
Male Singer
David Horwitz Maxwell Finch
Male Singer
Mel Johnson, Jr. Redcap
Judy Kaye Agnes
Kevin Kline Bruce Granit
Craig Lucas Male Singer
Carol Lugenbeal Anita
Female Singer
Carol Lurie Wardrobe Mistress
Hospital Attendant
Female Singer
Sal Mistretta Otto Von Bismark
Hospital Attendant
Male Singer
Hal Norman Actor
Male Singer
Charles Rule Bishop
Male Singer
Stanley Simmonds Train Secretary Rogers
Rufus Smith Congressman Lockwood
Ray Stephens
Broadway debut
Melanie Vaughan Female Singer
David Vogel Male Singer
Joseph Wise Porter
Swings: Linda Poser and Gerald Teijelo
Standby: George Lee Andrews (Oscar Jaffee)
Understudies: Peggy Cooper (Letitia Primrose), Karen Gibson (Dr. Johnson, Imelda), Ray Gill (Bruce Granit), Judy Kaye (Lily Garland), Craig Lucas (Max Jacobs), Hal Norman (Congressman Lockwood, Oliver Webb), Stanley Simmonds (Conductor Flanagan), Melanie Vaughan (Agnes) and David Vogel (Owen O'Malley)
Tony Award®
 1978 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by The Producers Circle 2, Inc., Robert Fryer, Mary Lea Johnson, James Cresson and Martin Richards; Produced in association with Joseph Harris and Ira Bernstein
winner 1978 Best Book of a Musical [winner]
Book by Betty Comden and Adolph Green
winner 1978 Best Original Score [winner]
Music by Cy Coleman; Lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green
winner 1978 Best Actor in a Musical [winner]
John Cullum
 1978 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Madeline Kahn
winner 1978 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [winner]
Kevin Kline
 1978 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Imogene Coca
winner 1978 Best Scenic Design [winner]
Robin Wagner
 1978 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee]
Harold Prince
Theatre World
nominee 1978 Award [recipient]
Judy Kaye
Drama Desk Award
 1978 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Judy Kaye
winner 1978 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical [winner]
Kevin Kline
winner 1978 Outstanding Music [winner]
Music by Cy Coleman
winner 1978 Outstanding Costume Design [winner]
Florence Klotz
winner 1978 Outstanding Set Design [winner]
Scenic Design by Robin Wagner
music by Cy Coleman; lyrics by Adolph Green and Betty Comden
ACT 1Sung By
Stranded Again Bishop, Actor and Singers
On the Twentieth Century Porters, Letitia Primrose, Conductor Flanagan, Train Secretary Rogers and Passengers
I Rise Again Oscar Jaffee, Owen O'Malley and Oliver Webb
Indian Maiden's Lament Imelda and Lily Garland
Veronique Lily Garland and Male Singers
I Have Written a Play Conductor Flanagan
Together Porters, Passengers and Oscar Jaffee
Never Lily Garland, Owen O'Malley and Oliver Webb
Our Private World Lily Garland and Oscar Jaffee
Repent Letitia Primrose
Mine Oscar Jaffee and Bruce Granit
I've Got It All Lily Garland and Oscar Jaffee
On the Twentieth Century (Reprise)Company
ACT 2Sung By
Entr'acte Porters
Five Zeros Owen O'Malley, Oliver Webb, Letitia Primrose and Oscar Jaffee
Sextet Owen O'Malley, Oliver Webb, Oscar Jaffee, Letitia Primrose, Lily Garland and Bruce Granit
She's a Nut Company
Max Jacobs Max Jacobs
Babbette Lily Garland
The Legacy Oscar Jaffee
Lily, Oscar Lily Garland and Oscar Jaffee