IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
ANTA Playhouse , (10/26/1965 - 6/11/1966)
First Preview:Oct 11, 1965 Total Previews:16
Opening Date:Oct 26, 1965   
Closing Date:Jun 11, 1966 Total Performances:261

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Apart from two early scenes in Spain and Panama, the play is set in the Upper Province of the Inca Empire: what is now South Ecuador and North Western Peru. June 1529 - 1533.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by ANTA, Inc.
Produced by The Theatre Guild (Philip Langner, Joel Schenker, Armina Marshall, Warren Caro), Theodore Mann and Gerard Oestreicher; Produced in association with Hope Abelson; Produced by arrangement with David Susskind and Daniel Melnick; Associate Producer: Don Herbert
Written by Peter Shaffer; Incidental music by Marc Wilkinson; Musical Director: Herbert Harris
Directed by John Dexter; Choreographed by Mme. Claude Chagrin
Scenic Design by Michael Annals; Costume Design by Michael Annals; Lighting Design by Martin Aronstein; New York Production Supervised by George Jenkins and Ben Edwards; Indian Headdresses by Cynthia Scott; Masks for Lament scene by John Gunther; Spanish armor and helmets by William Wallace Bellin; Make-up for Christopher Plummer by John Haag Jiras
General Manager: Paul Libin; Producer's Representative Theatre Guild-Oestreicher: Walter Fried
Production Stage Manager: Randall Brooks; Stage Manager: Maxine S. Taylor; Assistant Stage Mgr: Robert Bishop
Musician: Herbert Harris, Norman Grossman, Charles Birch and Steve Silverman; Associate Conductor: Norman Grossman
Sound Effects by Marc Wilkinson
Costumes executed by Ray Diffen Stage Clothes; General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; Press Representative: Violet Welles and Larry Belling; Advertising: Brownstone Associates; Casting: Alan Shayne Associates
Christopher Plummer Francisco Pizarro
Commander of the Expedition
David Carradine Atahuallpa
Sovereign Inca of Peru
George Rose Martin Ruiz
Cal Bellini Pedro de Candia
Commander of Artillery
Robert Berdeen Chieftain
Barry Burns Peruvian Indian
Clyde Burton Juan Chavez
Tony Capodilupo Vasca
Paul Charles Peruvian Indian
Kurt Christien Peruvian Indian
John Church Pedro Chavez
Paul Collins Martin Ruiz as a boy
Clayton Corbin Challcuchima
an Inca General
Thayer David Miguel Estete
Royal Overseer
Jake Dengel Rodas
B.J. DeSimone Peruvian Indian
Edilio Ferraro Peruvian Indian
Ben Hammer Fray Vincente de Valverde
Dominican, Chaplain to the Expedition
Judd Jones Headman
Michael Lamont Diego de Trujillo
Master of the Horse
Sandy Leeds Oello
a wife of Atahuallpa
Michael Levin Fray Marcos de Nizza
Franciscan Friar
Roy Lozano Peruvian Indian
Marc Maskin Manco
a Messenger
Héctor Mercado Peruvian Indian
Ken Novarro Peruvian Indian
Nelson Phillips Salinas
Mylo Quam Villac Umu
High Priest of Peru
Gregory Rozakis Felipillo
an Indian boy employed as interpreter to Pizarro
George Sampson Domingo
Julie Sheppard Inti Coussi
step-sister of Atahuallpa
Don Silber Peruvian Indian
John Vernon Hernardo de Soto
Understudies: Robert Berdeen (Felipillo), Barry Burns (Manco), Tony Capodilupo (Miguel Estete), Paul Charles (Martin Ruiz as a boy), Kurt Christien (Pedro Chavez), John Church (Domingo, Fray Marcos de Nizza, Fray Vincente de Valverde), Clayton Corbin (Atahuallpa), Thayer David (Martin Ruiz), B.J. DeSimone (Diego de Trujillo), Roy Lozano (Chieftain), Marc Maskin (Headman), George Sampson (Pedro de Candia, Rodas, Salinas, Vasca) and Don Silber (Challcuchima, Villac Umu)
Theatre World
nominee 1966 Award [recipient]
David Carradine