IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Tenth Man   

Booth Theatre , (11/05/1959 - 1/21/1961)
Ambassador Theatre , (1/23/1961 - 5/13/1961)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Nov 05, 1959   
Closing Date:May 13, 1961 Total Performances:623

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: An Orthodox Synagogue in Mineola, Long Island. 1959.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by Saint Subber and Arthur Cantor (Debut as a producer); Associate Producer: Caroline Swann
Written by Paddy Chayefsky
Directed by Tyrone Guthrie
Scenic Design by David Hays; Costume Design by Frank Thompson; Lighting Design by David Hays; Production Assistant to David Hays: Marshall Spiller
General Manager: Joseph Harris; Company Manager: Ira Bernstein
Production Stage Manager: David Kanter; Stage Manager: Paul Leaf
Press Representative: Harvey B. Sabinson, David Powers and Ted Goldsmith; Dances supervised by Belle Didjah; Assistant to the Director: Jack Merigold; Special Promotion: Lee Solters and James J. O'Rourke; Production Assistant: Selma Tamber
For his advice and assistance, the management wishes to extend its appreciation to Rabbi Emanuel Rackman
Jacob Ben-Ami Foreman
Donald Harron Arthur Landau
Arnold Marlé Hirschman
George Voskovec Alper
Jack Gilford Zitorsky
Lou Jacobi Schlissel
Gene Saks Rabbi
Risa Schwartz
Broadway debut
Evelyn Foreman
David Vardi
Broadway debut
Tim Callaghan
Broadway debut
Martin Garner Harris
Alan Manson Kessler Boy
Paul Marin Kessler Boy
Understudies: Carl Don, Renee Haffner, Sandra MacDonald and Morris Strassberg
Tony Award®
 1960 Best Play [nominee]
Written by Paddy Chayefsky; Produced by Saint Subber and Arthur Cantor
 1960 Best Scenic Design (Play) [nominee]
Scenic Design by David Hays
 1960 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Tyrone Guthrie