Sunrise at Campobello | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Sunrise at Campobello   

Cort Theatre, (1/30/1958 - 5/30/1959)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Jan 30, 1958    
Closing Date: May 30, 1959 Total Performances: 556

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Description: A drama in three acts and eight scenes
Setting: The home of Franklin Delano Roosevelt at Campobello, New Brunswick, Canada (1921); and New York (1922-1924).

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Leased by The Shubert Organization
Produced by The Theatre Guild and Dore Schary
Written by Dore Schary
Directed by Vincent J. Donehue; Assistant to Mr. Donehue: Robert Livingston
Scenic Design by Ralph Alswang; Costume Design by Virginia Volland; Lighting Design by Ralph Alswang
General Manager: Peter Davis; Company Manager: Jesse Long
Production Stage Manager: Jean Barrere; Stage Manager: Kenneth Mays; Assistant Stage Mgr: Jerry Crews
General Press Representative: Nat Dorfman; Press Representative: Irvin Dorfman and Marjorie Barkentin
Ralph BellamyFranklin Delano Roosevelt
James BonnetJames Roosevelt
Alan BunceGovernor Alfred E. Smith
Clifford CarpenterMr. Brimmer
Jerry CrewsDaly
Floyd CurtisPoliceman
Stretcher Bearer
Roni DengelAnna Roosevelt
Vincent DowlingSenator Walsh
Stretcher Bearer
Ethel EverettMarie
Mary FickettEleanor Roosevelt
William FortFranklin Calder
Henry JonesLouis McHenry Howe
James Earl JonesEdward
Kenneth KakosFranklin D. Roosevelt, Jr.
Edwin PhilipsA Speaker
Stretcher Bearer
James ReeseDoctor Bennet
Richard RobbinsMr. Lassiter
Jeffrey RowlandJohn Roosevelt
Anne SeymourMrs. Sara Delano Roosevelt
Perry SkaarElliott Roosevelt
Mary WelchMiss Marguerite (Missy) LeHand
Understudies: James Bayer (Elliott Roosevelt, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jr.), Clifford Carpenter (Louis McHenry Howe), Vincent Dowling (Governor Alfred E. Smith, Mr. Lassiter), Ethel Everett (Miss Marguerite (Missy) LeHand, Mrs. Sara Delano Roosevelt), William Fort (Mr. Brimmer, Senator Walsh), Kenneth Kakos (John Roosevelt), Richard Robbins (Franklin Delano Roosevelt), Linda Seff (Anna Roosevelt, Marie), Perry Skaar (James Roosevelt) and Mary Welch (Eleanor Roosevelt)
Tony Award®
winner 1958 Best Play [winner] 
 Written by Dore Schary ;  Produced by The Theatre Guild and Dore Schary
winner 1958 Best Actor in Play [winner] 
  Ralph Bellamy
winner 1958 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner] 
  Henry Jones
 1958 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Mary Fickett
winner 1958 Best Director [winner] 
 Directed by Vincent J. Donehue