IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Inherit the Wind   

National Theatre , (4/21/1955 - 6/22/1957)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Apr 21, 1955   
Closing Date:Jun 22, 1957 Total Performances:806

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: A small town. Summer. Not too long ago.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Select Operating Corporation
Produced by Herman Shumlin; Produced in association with Margo Jones
Written by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee
Directed by Herman Shumlin; Assistant Director: Terese Hayden
Scenic Design by Peter Larkin; Costume Design by Ruth Morley; Lighting Design by Feder; Assistant to Miss Morley: Dale Clement and Jean Vaughn; Assistant to Mr. Larkin: Blanche Wise
General Manager: Barney Klawans
Production Stage Manager: Burry Fredrik; Stage Manager: David Clive
General Press Representative: Leo Freedman
Paul Muni
Had to leave the play when he developed a cataract
Henry Drummond (Apr 21, 1955 - Aug 1955)
Ed Begley Matthew Harrison Brady
Tony Randall E. K. Hornbeck
Lou Adelman Ensemble
Jack Banning Timmy
Eric Berne Howard
Emmett Bradley Ensemble
Charles Brin Elijah
Joseph Brownstone Ensemble
Howard Caine Hot Dog Man
Michael Constantine Ensemble
Staats Cotsworth Rev. Jeremiah Brown
William Darrid Tom Davenport
Michael Del Medico Ensemble
Donald Elson Bollinger
Perry Fiske Harry Y. Esterbrook
Sara Floyd Mrs. Krebs
Louis Hector Judge
Fred Herrick Corkin
Ruth Hope Ensemble
Sally Jessup Ensemble
Mary Kevin Kelly Melinda
Muriel Kirkland Mrs. Brady
Julie Knox Ensemble
Patricia Larson Ensemble
Bethel Leslie Rachel Brown
Michael Lewin Ensemble
Robert P. Lieb Meeker
Karl Light Bertram Cates
Salem Ludwig Mr. Goodfellow
James Maloney Mayor
Evelyn Mando Ensemble
Sarah Meade Ensemble
Fred Miller Platt
Rita Newton Mrs. Loomis
Ruth Newton Mrs. Blair
Gian Pace Ensemble
Bee Peters Ensemble
Richard Poston Ensemble
Jack Riano Ensemble
Gordon Russell Ensemble
Carroll Saint Ensemble
Margherita Sargent Mrs. McLain
Robert Shannon Ensemble
Harry Shaw Hurdy Gurdy Man
Maurice Shrog Ensemble
Charles Thompson Mr. Bannister
Edmund Williams Reuter's Man
Tony Award®
winner 1956 Best Actor in Play [winner]
Paul Muni
winner 1956 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner]
Ed Begley
winner 1956 Best Scenic Design [winner]
Peter Larkin
 1956 Best Director [nominee]
Directed by Herman Shumlin