The Ponder Heart | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Ponder Heart   

Music Box Theatre, (2/16/1956 - 6/23/1956)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Feb 16, 1956    
Closing Date: Jun 23, 1956 Total Performances: 149

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A comedy in three acts
Setting: In and around a small town in the South, a few years ago.

Production Staff
Produced by The Playwrights' Company (Maxwell Anderson; S.N. Behrman; Elmer Rice; Robert E. Sherwood; Sidney Howard)
Written by Joseph A. Fields and Jerome Chodorov; Based on a story by Eudora Welty
Directed by Robert Douglas
Scenic Design by Ben Edwards; Costume Design by Frank Spencer; Lighting Design by Ben Edwards
Business Manager: Victor Samrock; Company Manager: Leonard Field
Production Stage Manager: Philip Mathias; Stage Manager: Tony Kraber; Assistant Stage Mgr: James Karr
Music Advisor: Lehman Engel
Lighting Supervisor: Klaus Holm; Press Representative: William Fields; Associate Press Representative: Walter Alford and Reginald Denenholz; Production Assistant: Malcolm Wells; Master Carpenter: Lawrence Bland
David WayneUncle Daniel Ponder
Will GeerDorris R. Gladney
Juanita HallNarciss
Don HanmerDe Yancey Clanahan
Sarah MarshallBonnie Dee Ponder
Una MerkelEdna Earle Ponder
Daniel BerginJurors and Spectators
Joe BishopJurors and Spectators
Theodore BrowneJacob
Edwin BuckleyPurdel Peacock
Vinie BurrowsSarah
William DwyerClyde
Mary FarrellMrs. Bodkin
Donald FosterDr. Eubanks
Tom GeraghtyJurors and Spectators
Barbara Jean GilliamEloise
Harold GrauMr. Peacock
Jim HoldenJurors and Spectators
J. Talbot HollandAl
James KarrClerk
Charlotte KleinMrs. Peacock
Johnny KleinRodney
Richard KleinBruce Peacock
Tony KraberBailiff
David LelandMr. Springer
Alan MansonForeman
Dwight MarfieldTruex Bodkin
John MarriottBig John
Junior MarshallWillie
John McGovernJudge Waite
Helen QuarrierTreva Peacock
Richard RothrockJurors and Spectators
Jeanne ShelleyJohnnie Ree Peacock
Lieselotte SingerJurors and Spectators
Ruth WhiteTeacake Magee
Noel WilliamsSam
Theatre World
winner 1956 Award [recipient] 
  Sarah Marshall
Tony Award®
winner 1956 Best Featured Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Una Merkel
 1956 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Ben Edwards
 1956 Stage Technician [nominee] 
  Lawrence Bland