The Teahouse of the August Moon | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Teahouse of the August Moon   

Martin Beck Theatre, (10/15/1953 - 3/24/1956)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Oct 15, 1953    
Closing Date: Mar 24, 1956 Total Performances: 1027

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: Okinawa; Col. Purdy's and Capt. Fisby's Offices; Tobiki Village; The Teahouse of the August Moon

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Martin Beck Theatre Corporation; General Manager for the Martin Beck Theatre Louis A. Lotito
Produced by Maurice Evans; Produced in association with George Schaefer
Written by John Patrick; Based on the novel by Vern Sneider; Music composed by Dai-Keong Lee
Directed by Robert Lewis; Miss Niki's dance by Yuki Shimoda
Scenic Design by Peter Larkin; Lighting Design by Peter Larkin; Costume Design by Noel Taylor; Assistant to Mr. Taylor: George Sullivan
General Manager: Robert Rapport
Production Stage Manager: Billy Matthews; Stage Manager: Tom Hughes Sand; Assistant Stage Mgr: Jerry Fujikawa
Music Contractor: Max Marlin
Assistant to Mr. Evans: Emmett Rogers; Press Representative: Sol Jacobson and Lewis Harmon; Advertising Representative: Fred Golden; Assistant to the Director: Judd Mathison
John ForsytheCapt. Fisby
David WayneSakini
Paul FordCol. Wainright Purdy III
Larry GatesCapt. McLean
William HansenMr. Oshira
Mariko NikiLotus Blossom
Richard AkagiVillager
Joyce ChenThe Daughter's Child
Norman ChiVillager
Kaie DeeiMr. Sumata
Jerry FujikawaVillager
Kikuo HiromuraMr. Sumata's Father
Kame IshikawaAncient Man
Harry JacksonSgt. Gregovich
Laurence KimVillager
Mara KimOld Woman's Daughter
Ladies League for Democratic Action
Naoe KondoOld Woman
Ladies League for Democratic Action
Chuck MorganMr. Hokaida
Shizu MoriyaMiss Higa Jiga
Frank OgawaVillager
Mary Ann ReeveLadies League for Democratic Action
SakiLady Astor
Kuraji SeidaMr. Omura
Yuki ShimodaMr. Keora
Moy Moy ThomThe Daughter's Child
Vivian ThomLadies League for Democratic Action
Haim WinantMr. Seiko
Kenneth WongThe Daughter's Child
Tony Award®
winner 1954 Best Play [winner] 
 Written by John Patrick ;  Produced by Maurice Evans ;  Produced in association with George Schaefer
winner 1954 Best Actor in Play [winner] 
  David Wayne
winner 1954 Best Scenic Design [winner] 
  Peter Larkin
Pulitzer Prize
winner 1954 for Drama [winner] 
 Written by John Patrick