IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Alvin Theatre , (12/13/1951 - 11/22/1952)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Dec 13, 1951   
Closing Date:Nov 22, 1952 Total Performances:356

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Sycamore Park, Connecticut. New York City. Clyde, Massachusetts. The Present.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Herman Bernstein
Produced by Leland Hayward
This production is owned and controlled by Point of No Return Company
Written by Paul Osborn; Based on the novel by John P. Marquand
Directed by H. C. Potter
Scenic Design by Jo Mielziner; Lighting Design by Jo Mielziner; Costume Design by Mainbocher; Assistant to the Costume Designer: Frank Spencer; Assistant to Mr. Mielziner: John Harvey
General Manager: Herman Bernstein; Company Manager: Abe Cohen
Production Stage Manager: David Gray, Jr.; Stage Manager: Robert Linden; Assistant Stage Mgr: James Jolley
Press Representative: Leo Freedman and Abner D. Klipstein; Publicity Assistant Betty Lee Hunt; Casting: Marshall Jamison
Henry Fonda Charles Gray
Phil Arthur Jackie Mason
Frances Bavier Esther Gray
Heywood Hale Broun Second Clerk
Madeleine Clive Mrs. Burton
Frank Conroy Anthony Burton
John Cromwell John Gray
Leora Dana Nancy Gray
Susan Harris Evelyn Gray
Pitt Herbert Tailor
Katherine Hynes Miss Dingle
James Jolley Joe
Colin Keith-Johnston Laurence Lovell
Madeleine King Miss Marble
James MacDonald Conductor
Davis Roberts First Teller
Bartlett Robinson Roger Blakesley
Robert Ross Malcolm Bryant
Keith Russell Bill Gray
Harriet Selby Maid
Patricia Smith
Broadway debut
Jessica Lovell
Stanley Tackney First Clerk
Tony Award®
winner 1952 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner]
John Cromwell