Memphis Bound! | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

Memphis Bound!   

Broadway Theatre, (5/24/1945 - 6/09/1945)
Belasco Theatre, (6/11/1945 - 6/23/1945)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: May 24, 1945    
Closing Date: Jun 23, 1945 Total Performances: 36

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A musical in two acts. Drawn freely from "Trial By Jury" and "H.M.S. Pinafore"
Setting: Near Calliboga, Tennessee

Production Staff
Produced by John J. Wildberg
Music by Don Walker and Clay Warnick; Book by Albert Wineman Barker and Sally Benson; Lyrics by Don Walker and Clay Warnick; Music orchestrated by Don Walker; Vocal arrangements by Clay Warnick; Orchestrations to dances by Ted Royal; Additional Vocal Arrangements by Rene deKnight
Staged by Robert Ross; Staging assisted by Eva Jessye; Choreographed by Al White, Jr.
Scenic Design by George Jenkins; Lighting Design by George Jenkins; Costume Design by Lucinda Ballard
General Manager: Nick Holde; Company Manager: Clarence Jacobson
Production Supervisor: Vinton Freedley; Stage Manager: Paul Porter
Conducted by Charles Sanford
Press Representative: Karl N. Bernstein
William ArcherEnsemble
Ada BrownMrs. Paradise
Theodore BrownEnsemble
Marion BruceEnsemble
Thelma CarpenterHenny Paradise
Traverse CrawfordDelta Rhythm Boy
Billy DanielsRoy Baggott
Rene deKnightDelta Rhythm Boy
John DiggsEnsemble
William DillardGabriel
Lee EberleEnsemble
Lee GainesDelta Rhythm Boy
Timothy GraceTimmy
Leslie GrayEnsemble
Sheila GuyseLily Valentine
Harriet JacksonSarabelle
Ida JamesPenny Paradise
Carl JonesDelta Rhythm Boy
Mary LewisEnsemble
Avon LongWinfield Carter
Joy MerrimoreEulalia
David PerryEnsemble
Kelsey PharrDelta Rhythm Boy
Nell PlanteEnsemble
Oscar PlanteEnsemble
Sherriff McDaniels
Richard ReedEnsemble
Eulabel RileyEnsemble
Ann RobinsonChloe
Bill RobinsonPilot Meriwether
William C. SmithHector
Marliene StrongCherub
Georgia Ann TimmonsEnsemble
Rodester TimmonsEnsemble
Muriel WatkinsEnsemble
Charles WelchBill
Ethel WhiteEnsemble
Roy WhiteEnsemble
Lulling WilliamsEnsemble
Edith WilsonMelissa Carter
Frank WilsonMr. Finch
music by Don Walker and Clay Warnick; lyrics by Don Walker and Clay Warnick
ACT 1 Sung By
Big Old RiverEnsemble
Stand Around the BandWinfield Carter, Delta Rhythm Boys and Ensemble
Old Love and Brand New LoveRoy Baggott, Winfield Carter and Lily Valentine
Growing PainsPilot Meriwether
We Sail the Ocean BlueSailors
I'm Called Little ButtercupMrs. Paradise and Delta Rhythm Boys
A Maiden Fair to SeeRoy Baggott and Sailors
I Am the Captain of the PinaforeWinfield Carter and Sailors
Sorry Her LotLily Valentine, Penny Paradise and Henny Paradise
Over the Bright Blue SeaEnsemble
I Am the Monarch of the SeaPilot Meriwether and Ensemble
The Ruler of the Queen's NaveePilot Meriwether
The Nightingale, the Moon and IRoy Baggott
ACT 2 Sung By
The Gilbert & Sullivan BluesChloe
Farewll, My OwnPilot Meriwether, Roy Baggott and the Beer Garden Four
Fair MoonWinfield Carter, Delta Rhythm Boys and Ensemble
Love or ReasonLily Valentine, Penny Paradise and Henny Paradise
Things Are Seldom What They SeemPilot Meriwether and Winfield Carter
Trial By JuryPilot Meriwether, Winfield Carter, Melissa Carter, Mr. Finch, Gabriel and Ensemble
The Nightingale, the Moon and I (Reprise) Roy Baggott, Lily Valentine and Ensemble
Old Love and Brand New Love (Reprise) Delta Rhythm Boys and Ensemble
A-Many Years AgoMrs. Paradise and Delta Rhythm Boys
Ring the Merry BellesPilot Meriwether