IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Virginia Theatre , (9/17/2000 - 12/31/2000)
First Preview:Sep 05, 2000 Total Previews:15
Opening Date:Sep 17, 2000   
Closing Date:Dec 31, 2000 Total Performances:121

Category: Play, Revival, Broadway
Setting: July, 1960. The Presidential Convention, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (James H. Binger: Chairman; Rocco Landesman: President; Paul Libin: Producing Director; Jack Viertel: Creative Director)
Produced by Jeffrey Richards, Michael B. Rothfeld, Raymond J. Greenwald, Jerry Frankel and Darren Bagert; Associate Producer: Francis Finlay, Norma Langworthy and Louise Levathes
Written by Gore Vidal; Incidental music by David Van Tieghem
Directed by Ethan McSweeny
Scenic Design by John Arnone; Costume Design by Theoni V. Aldredge; Lighting Design by Howell Binkley; Sound Design by David Van Tieghem; Hair and Wig Design by Bobby H. Grayson; Associate Scenic Design: Jesse Poleshuck; Associate Costume Design: Wallace G. Lane, Jr.; Associate Lighting Design: Chad McArver; Assistant Lighting Design: Burke J. Wilmore; Associate Sound Design: Jill DuBoff
General Manager: Albert Poland; Company Manager: Rick Shulman
Technical Supervisor: Neil A. Mazzella; Production Stage Manager: Jane Grey; Stage Manager: Matthew Farrell
Marketing: The Nancy Richards Group; Casting: Stuart Howard, Amy Schecter and Howard Meltzer; Dialect Coach: Kate Wilson; Press Representative: Jeffrey Richards Associates; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Photographer: Peter Cunningham
Elizabeth Ashley Mrs. Sue-Ellen Gamadge
Chairman of the Women's Division
Charles Durning Ex-President Arthur Hockstader
Christine Ebersole Mabel Cantwell
wife of Joseph Cantwell
Spalding Gray Secretary William Russell
Michael Learned Alice Russell
wife of William Russell
Chris Noth Senator Joseph Cantwell
Mark Blum Dick Jensen
William Russell's campaign manager
Ed Dixon Senator Clyde Carlin
Jonathan Hadary Sheldon Marcus
Jordan Lage Don Blades
Joseph Cantwell's campaign manager
Michael Rudko Dr. Artinian
a psychiatrist
Joseph Costa Delegate
Second Reporter
Walter Cronkite News Commentator (Voice) Recorded voice only
Joseph Culliton Delegate
First Reporter
Kate Hampton Catherine
a campaign aide
Additional Reporter / Hotel Staff
Patricia Hodges Delegate
Third Reporter
Lee Mark Nelson Delegate
Fifth Reporter
Michael Rudko Additional Reporter / Hotel Staff
C. J. Wilson Delegate
Fourth Reporter
Standbys: Joseph Costa (Dick Jensen, Dr. Artinian, Senator Clyde Carlin), Joseph Culliton (Dr. Artinian, Secretary William Russell), Ed Dixon (Ex-President Arthur Hockstader), Carol Halstead (Campaign Aide, Fifth Reporter, First Reporter, Fourth Reporter, Second Reporter, Third Reporter), Kate Hampton (Mabel Cantwell), Patricia Hodges (Alice Russell, Mabel Cantwell, Mrs. Sue-Ellen Gamadge), Lee Mark Nelson (Dick Jensen, Don Blades), Michael Rudko (Sheldon Marcus) and C. J. Wilson (Don Blades, Senator Joseph Cantwell)
Tony Award®
 2001 Best Revival of a Play [nominee]
Produced by Jeffrey Richards, Michael B. Rothfeld, Raymond J. Greenwald, Jerry Frankel and Darren Bagert
Drama Desk Award
winner 2001 Outstanding Revival of a Play [winner]
Produced by Jeffrey Richards, Michael B. Rothfeld, Raymond J. Greenwald, Jerry Frankel and Darren Bagert
Theatre World
nominee 2001 Award [recipient]
Chris Noth